Switzerland's Locarno Film Festival Announces Jury Members

TAORMINA, Sicily – American screenwriter and producer Roger Avary; Korean filmmaker Sang-soo Im; Noemie Lvovsky, the director, writer, and actress from France, and Swiss curator and writer Hans Ulrich Obrist will fill out the main competition jury at the next edition of the Locarno Film Festival, organizers announced Wednesday.

As previously announced, Thai filmmaker Apichatpong Weerasethakul will head the jury that will hand out the festival’s prestigious Golden Leopard prize.

The festival announced the makeup of all the other main juries as well.

Locarno also announced the jury members for its important Filmmakers of the Present sidebar, which focuses on up-and-coming directors presenting a first or second film. Director Mahamat-Saleh Haroun of Chad, Portuguese actress Ana Moreira, U.S. director Alex Ross Perry, Swiss producer at ARTE Luciano Rigolini, and Malaysian filmmaker Yuhang Ho will make up that jury.

British screenwriter and director Mark Peploe will head the four-person jury that will judge the Leopards of Tomorrow competition, which focuses on directors of short films who have not yet made their first film.

Film critics Dennis Lim of the U.S. and Boris Nelepo of Russia, and Japanese film programmer Abi Sakamoto will select the recipient of the Best First Film honor from among the eligible films in the main competition, the Filmmakers of the Present sidebar, and from the films screening in the festival’s signature Piazza Grande outdoor venue, Europe’s largest screen.

The next edition of the Locarno festival, the 65th, will take place August 1-11 in the lakeside Swiss town of Locarno.