Sound Mixers Pick 'Les Miserables' For CAS Award

Carolyn Giardina
The Hollywood Reporter
China Box Office: 'Journey to the West' Streak Continues While 'Les Miserables' Flounders

The sound mixing team behind musical Les Miserables won the Cinema Audio Society award for a live action feature at the 49th annual CAS Awards, Feb. 16 at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel.

The honorees from Les Mis were production mixer Simon Hayes, re-recording mixers Andy Nelson and Mark Paterson, scoring mixer Jonathan Allen, and ADR mixer Robert Edwards.

Les Mis is also nominated for an Oscar in sound mixing, along with Argo, Life of Pi, Lincoln and Skyfall.

PHOTOS: THR's Oscar Nominees Night: Jennifer Lawrence, Steven Spielberg, Naomi Watts Celebrate at 2013 Bash

In the category for animated features, the team behind Brave took home the CAS trophy. The honorees were ADR mixer Bobby Johansen, re-recording mixer  Tom Johnson, re-recording mixer Gary Rydstrom, scoring mixer Andrew Dudman and Foley mixer Frank Rinella.

Oscar nominee Anne Hathaway (Les Mis) and two-time Oscar winning production sound mixer Willie D. Burton presented the CAS Filmmaker Award to Academy Award winning director Jonathan Demme.

Academy Award winning re-recording mixer Tom Fleischman and Demme bestowed the CAS Career Achievement Award on three-time Oscar winning production sound mixer Chris Newman (The English Patient, Amadeus and The Exorcist). Newman worked with Demme on several projects including The Silence of the Lambs.

PHOTOS: What the Bookies Say About Oscar

Find the complete list of winners below, in red and offset with an asterisk.

Motion Pictures – Live Action

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
Production Mixer – Tony Johnson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Christopher Boyes
Re-recording Mixer – Michael Hedges, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Michael Semanick, CAS

*WINNER   Les Miserables
Production Mixer – Simon Hayes
Re-recording Mixer – Andy Nelson
Re-recording Mixer – Mark Paterson
Scoring Mixer – Jonathan Allen ADR Mixer –Robert Edwards

Production Mixer – Ronald Judkins, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Andy Nelson
Re-recording Mixer – Gary Rydstrom, CAS
Scoring Mixer – Shawn Murphy
ADR Mixer – Bob Johanson
Foley Mixer – Frank Rinella

Production Mixer – Stuart Wilson
Re-recording Mixer – Scott Millan, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Greg P. Russell, CAS
Scoring Mixer – Simon Rhodes
ADR Mixer – Peter Gleaves
Foley Mixer – James Ashwill

Zero Dark Thirty
Production Mixer – Ray Beckett, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Paul N. J. Ottosson
ADR Mixer – Brian Smith
Foley Mixer – John Sanacore

Motion Pictures – Animated  

ADR Mixer – Bobby Johansen
Re-recording Mixer – Tom Johnson
Re-recording Mixer – Gary Rydstrom, CAS
Scoring Mixer – Andrew Dudman
Foley Mixer – Frank Rinella


ADR Mixer – Doc Kane
Re-recording Mixer – Michael Semanick, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Tom Johnson
Re-recording Mixer – Chris Boyes
Scoring Mixer – Dennis Sands, CAS
Foley Mixer – Glen Gathard

The Lorax
Re-recording Mixer – Randy Thom, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Gary Rizzo, CAS
Scoring Mixer – Shawn Murphy
Foley Mixer – Frank Rinella

Rise of the Guardians
ADR Mixer – Tighe Sheldon
Re-recording Mixer – Andy Nelson
Re-recording Mixer – Jim Bolt
Scoring Mixer – Peter Cobbin
Foley Mixer – Kyle Rochlin

Wreck-It Ralph
ADR Mixer – Doc Kane
Re-recording Mixer – David E. Fluhr, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Gary Rizzo, CAS
Scoring Mixer – Alan Meyerson
Foley Mixer – Frank Rinella

Television Movies and Mini-Series

American Horror Story: Asylum Part 1 – Welcome to Briarcliff
Production Mixer – Sean Rush
Re-recording Mixer – Joseph H. Earle Jr., CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Doug Andham, CAS
Scoring Mixer – James S. Levine
ADR Mixer – Judah Getz
Foley Mixer – Kyle Billingsley

Game Change
Production Mixer – David R.B. Macmillan, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Gabriel J. Serrano  
Re-recording Mixer – Leslie Shatz
Scoring Mixer – Chris Fogel  
ADR Mixer – Travis Mackay  
Foley Mixer – Tor Kingdon

*WINNER Hatfields & McCoy’s: Part 1
Production Mixer – Dragos Stanomir
Re-recording Mixer – Christian Cooke
Re-recording Mixer – Brad Zoern
Scoring Mixer – Jeff Vaughn
ADR Mixer – Eric Apps
Foley Mixer – Peter Persaud

Hemingway & Gellhorn
Production Mixer – Nelson Stoll, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Lora Hirschberg
Re-recording Mixer – Peter Horner
Re-recording Mixer – Douglas Murray
Scoring Mixer – Marc Blanes Matas
ADR Mixer – Andy Greenberg
Foley Mixer – Don White

Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia
Production Mixer – John Mooney
Re-recording Mixer – Howard Bargroff

Television Series – One Hour

Boardwalk Empire: The Milkmaid's Lot
Production Mixer – Franklin D. Stettner, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Tom Fleischman, CAS

Breaking Bad: Dead Freight
Production Mixer – Darryl L. Frank, CAS  
Re-recording Mixer – Jeff Perkins  
Re-recording Mixer – Eric Justen  
ADR Mixer – Eric Gotthelf  
Foley Mixer – Stacey Michaels

Game of Thrones: Blackwater
Production Mixer – Ronan Hill, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Onnalee Blank, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Mathew Waters
Foley Mixer – Brett Voss  

*WINNER Homeland: Beirut Is Back
Production Mixer – Larry Long
Re-recording Mixer – Nello Torri, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Alan M. Decker, CAS
ADR Mixer – Paul Drenning
Foley Mixer – Shawn Kennelly


Mad Men: Commissions and Fees
Production Mixer – Peter Bentley, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Ken Teaney, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Alec St. John, CAS

Television Series – Half-Hour

30 Rock: Mazel Tov, Dummies!
Production Mixer – Griffin Richardson
Re-recording Mixer – Tony Pipitone

Californication: Hell Ain't a Bad Place To Be
Production Mixer – Daniel Church
Re-recording Mixer – Todd M. Grace, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Edward Charles Carr III, CAS  

*WINNER Modern Family: Disneyland
Production Mixer – Stephen A. Tibbo, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Dean Okrand
Re-recording Mixer – Brian R. Harman, CAS


Nurse Jackie: Handle Your Scandal
Production Mixer – Jan McLaughlin, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Peter Waggoner

The Office: New Guys
Production Mixer – Ben Patrick
Re-recording Mixer – John W. Cook II, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Kenneth Kobett, CAS

Television – Non-Fiction, Variety or Music - Series or Specials

*WINNER The 2012 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
Re-recording Mixer – Brian Riordan, CAS
Re-recording Mixer – Jamie Ledner

Deadliest Catch: I Don't Wanna Die
Re-recording Mixer – Bob Bronow, CAS

Frozen Planet: To the Ends of the Earth
Production Mixer – Archie Moore
Re-recording Mixer – Graham Wild

Great Performances at the Met: Anna Bolena
Re-recording Mixer – Ken Hahn, CAS
Music Mixer – Live Performance – Jay David Saks

Soundtracks: Music Without Borders
Re-recording Mixer - Paul James Zahnley, CAS

Technical Achievment Award-Production

Nominees are Lectrosonics, for its WM watertight transmitter; PureBlend Software, Movieslate 3.8; Quantum5X, TapShoeMic; Sound Devices, 664 field production mixer with recorder; and Zaxcom, ERX2TCD IFB receiver.

Technical Achievement Award-Postproduction

Shortlisted are AMS Neve, for its DFC Gemini with Superstem mixing; Barco, Auro 11.1; Dolby, Atmos; iZotope, Insight; and Waves, WLM-Waves loudness meter.