Yahoo Movies
Please enable Javascript

Javascript needs to be enabled in your browser to use Yahoo Movies.

Here’s how to turn it on:

Costume Designers Say Best-Dressed Movies Are 'Anna Karenina,' 'Mirror Mirror,' 'Skyfall'

Costume Designers Say Best-Dressed Movies Are 'Anna Karenina,' 'Mirror Mirror,' 'Skyfall'Costume Designers Say Best-Dressed Movies Are 'Anna Karenina,' 'Mirror Mirror,' 'Skyfall'

The best-looking movies of 2012 are "Anna Karenina," "Skyfall" and "Mirror Mirror," said the Costume Designers Guild on Tuesday night.

In the final guild ceremony of awards season, "Anna Karenina" won in the Excellence in Period Film category, while "Skyfall" was honored for Excellence in Contemporary Film and "Mirror Mirror" for Excellence in Fantasy Film.

Of the three winners, two – "Anna Karenina" (left) and "Mirror Mirror" – are also nominated for the costume-design Oscar. Over the past eight years, the Oscar winner has coincided with the CDG's period-film winner three times and its fantasy-film winner once.

The "Mirror Mirror" costume designer, Eiko Ishioka, passed away last January and won her award posthumously.

On the television side, awards went to "Smash," "Downton Abbey" and "American Horror Story: Asylum."

Judianna Makovsky, who won an award for her work on the "Captain Morgan Black" television commercial, also received the guild's Career Achievement Award, as did Eduardo Castro.

Anne Hathaway was given the LACOSTE Spotlight Award, while "Saturday Night Live" producer Lorne Michaels received the Distinguished Collaborator Award.

The show took place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel and was hosted by Joel McHale. Presenters included Steve Martin, Russell Crowe, Shirley MacLaine and Amy Poehler.

Excellence in Contemporary Film:
"Skyfall," Jany Temime Excellence in Period Film:
"Anna Karenina," Jacqueline Durran Excellence in Fantasy Film:
"Mirror Mirror," Eiko Ishioka Outstanding Contemporary Television Series:
"Smash," Molly Maginnis Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series:
"Downton Abbey," Carolina McCall Outstanding Made for Television Movie/Mini-Series:
"American Horror Story: Asylum," Lou Eyrich Excellence in Commercial Costume Design:
"Captain Morgan Black," Judianna Makovsky

Career Achievement Award:
Eduardo Castro,
Judianna Makovsky Distinguished Collaborator Award: Lorne Michaels LACOSTE Spotlight Award:
Anne Hathaway