Emma Stone, Ryan Gosling to Be Honored by Santa Barbara Film Festival for ‘La La Land’

Dave McNary

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival has selected Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling for its 2017 outstanding performers of the year award for their work in “La La Land.”

The award will be presented Feb. 3 in a tribute moderated by festival exec director Roger Durling at the Arlington Theatre. It marks the first time Stone has been honored by the festival while Gosling was the inaugural recipient of the Cinema Vanguard award in 2008.

“Ryan and Emma’s luminous performances in La La Land remind us of the transformative and magical role of cinema,” Durling said. “We are so proud to celebrate them and this incredible film and its nod to the classic love stories of Old Hollywood with a contemporary twist.”

Past recipients of the award include Brie Larson, Saoirse Ronan, Steve Carell, Cate Blanchett, Jennifer Lawrence, Viola Davis, James Franco, Colin Firth, Penelope Cruz, Angelina Jolie, Helen Mirren, Heath Ledger, Kate Winslet and Charlize Theron.

“La La Land,” directed by Damien Chazelle, premiered at the Venice Film Festival on Aug. 31 and will be released Dec. 9 in the U.S. by Lionsgate. It has also opened the Denver and Chicago Film Festivals, along with screenings at Telluride, Toronto and the AFI Fest in Hollywood.

Related stories

Variety and WWD Salute Stylemakers

Listen to 'City of Stars' From the 'La La Land' Soundtrack, Arriving Dec. 9

Celebrities Who Got Their Start in Reality TV

Get more from Variety and Variety411: Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Newsletter