‘Zero Dark Thirty’ leads at the New York Film Critics Circle Awards with best picture and director, best screenplay goes to ‘Lincoln’

The Reel Breakdown
Zero Dark Thirty
Zero Dark Thirty

"Zero Dark Thirty" won the Best Picture prize at this year's New York Film Critics Circle Awards, sweeping along Kathryn Bigelow for her second Best Director win and also Best Cinematography.

"Lincoln" also took three awards, with Tony Kushner receiving Best Screenplay, Daniel Day-Lewis winning Best Actor and Sally Field taking Best Supporting Actress at the awards announced today. But there's a catch: Steven Spielberg wasn't even in the running for Best Director.

Among the very welcome surprises of the NYFCC voting was the award for Rachel Weisz as Best Actress for "The Deep Blue Sea," over Jennifer Lawrence ("Silver Linings Playbook") and Jessica Chastain ("Zero Dark Thirty"). The other was the ascendance of Mathew McConaughey, who took home the Best Supporting Actor award for "Magic Mike" and "Bernie." Both Weisz and McConaughey may now get Oscar nominations on the strength of their wins.

[Related: Rachel Weisz on wives gone wild and 'The Deep Blue Sea']

In addition to McConaughey, the "Bernie" team performed surprisingly well, with Jack Black coming in second for Best Actor behind Daniel Day-Lewis. There were also mentions of costar Shirley MacLaine and director Richard Linklater among the balloting.

The Major snubs went to complete shut-outs -- and Oscar front-runners -- "Les MIserables," "Argo," "Silver Linings Playbook" "Life of Pi" and "Flight." "Django Unchained," which only screened for the first time this past weekend, also remained hobbled without making a major play for an important award. "The Beasts of the Southern Wild" came close but couldn't close on the award for Best First Feature or one for its young star Quvenzhané Wallis. Period pieces "Anna Karenina" and "Hyde Park on Hudson"  waved handkerchiefs in defeat, and indie favorite John Hawkes, Helen Hunt and their movie "The Sessions" also didn't get a break.

Best Picture
"Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Director
Katherine Bigelow, "Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Screenplay
"Lincoln," Tony Kushner

Best Actress
Rachel Weisz, "The Deep  Blue Sea"

Best Actor
Daniel Day Lewis, "Lincoln"

Best Supporting Actress
Sally Field, "Lincoln"

Best Supporting Actor
Mathew McConnaughey, "Magic Mike" and "Bernie"

Best Cinematography
Greig Fraser, "Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Foreign Film

Best Documentary
"The Central Park Five"

Best Animated Feature

Best First Fiction Feature
"How to Survive a Plague"

The star-studded 78th Annual Awards Ceremony will take place in Manhattan on January 7th, 2013

[Related: 'Zero Dark Thirty' is a Best Picture contender]

Watch trailers for "Zero Dark Thirty":

'Zero Dark Thirty' Teaser Trailer 'Zero Dark Thirty' Teaser Trailer 2