What to Read Next

2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominations Announced

Yahoo Movies
November 26, 2013
(Photo: Roadside Attractions, Fox Searchlight, IFC Films, CBS Films, Paramount)
(Photo: Roadside Attractions, Fox Searchlight, IFC Films, CBS Films, Paramount)

With the indie ranks including the much-buzzed "12 Years a Slave," Bruce Dern's standout performance in "Nebraska," and the Coen Brothers' latest confection "Inside Llewyn Davis," it's tougher than ever to grab a Film Independent Spirit Awards nomination this year.

But the makers of those films are probably dancing a jig right now — along with Robert Redford's near-dialogue-free "All Is Lost" and "Frances Ha" — after landing nods for this year's top Best Feature film prize.

Elsewhere in the announcement, the heavyweights of the acting categories got their expected nods:  Matthew McConaughey's name was called for "Dallas Buyers Club," Chiwetel Ejiofor for "12 Years," and Cate Blanchett for "Blue Jasmine."

But the Spirit Awards often celebrate films that aren't gunning for Golden Globes and Oscar glory. Among the more unlikely names listed in Tuesday's Spirit Award nominations: Brie Larson for "Short Term 12," Gaby Hoffman for "Crystal Fairy," and Shailene Woodley in "The Spectacular Now."

Watch the nominations ceremony presented by Octavia Spencer and Paula Patton:


Here is the full list of 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominations:

Best Feature:

  • 12 Years a Slave
  • All Is Lost
  • Francis Ha
  • Inside Llewyn Davis
  • Nebraska

Best Director

  • Shane Carruth, Upstream Color
  • J.C. Chandor, All Is Lost
  • Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
  • Jeff Nichols, Mud
  • Alexander Payne, Nebraska

Best Screenplay

  • Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine
  • Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater, Before Midnight
  • Nicole Holofcener, Enough Said
  • Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, The Spectacular Now
  • John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Best First Feature

  • Blue Caprice, Director/Producer: Alexandre Moors; Producers: Kim Jackson, Brian O’Carroll, Isen Robbins, Will Rowbotham, Ron Simons, Aimee Schoof, Stephen Tedeschi
  • Concussion, Director: Stacie Passon, Producer: Rose Troche
  • Fruitvale Station, Director: Ryan Coogler; Producers: Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker
  • Una Noche, Director/Producer: Lucy Mulloy, Producers: Sandy Pérez Aguila, Maite Artieda, Daniel Mulloy, Yunior Santiago
  • Wadjda, Director: Haifaa Al Mansour, Producers: Gerhard Meixner, Roman Paul

Best First Screenplay

  • Lake Bell, In A World
  • Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Don Jon
  • Bob Nelson, Nebraska
  • Jill Soloway, Afternoon Delight
  • Michael Starrbury, The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete

John Cassavetes Award
(best feature made for under $500,000)

  • Computer Chess, Writer/Director: Andrew Bujalski, Producers: Houston King & Alex Lipschultz
  • Crystal Fairy, Writer/Director: Sebastiàn Silva, Producers: Juan de Dios Larraín & Pablo Larraín
  • Museum Hours, Writer/Director: Jem Cohen, Producers: Paolo Calamita & Gabriele Kranzelbinder
  • Pit Stop, Writer/Director: Yen Tan, Writer: David Lowery, Producers: Jonathan Duffy, James M. Johnston, Eric Steele, Kelly Williams
  • This is Martin Bonner, Writer/Director: Chad Hartigan, Producer: Cherie Saulter

Best Female Lead

  • Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
  • Julie Delpy, Before Midnight
  • Gaby Hoffmann, Crystal Fairy
  • Brie Larson, Short Term 12
  • Shailene Woodley, The Spectacular Now

Best Male Lead

  • Bruce Dern, Nebraska
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
  • Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis
  • Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station
  • Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
  • Robert Redford, All Is Lost

Best Supporting Female

  • Melonie Diaz, Fruitvale Station
  • Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
  • Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
  • Yolonda Ross, Go For Sisters
  • June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Supporting Male

  • Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
  • Will Forte, Nebraska
  • James Gandolfini, Enough Said
  • Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
  • Keith Stanfield, Short Term 12

Best Cinematography

  • Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years a Slave
  • Benoit Debie, Spring Breakers
  • Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis
  • Frank G. DeMarco, All Is Lost
  • Matthias Grunsky, Computer Chess

Best Editing

  • Shane Carruth & David Lowery, Upstream Color
  • Jem Cohen & Marc Vives, Museum Hours
  • Jennifer Lame, Frances Ha
  • Cindy Lee, Una Noche
  • Nat Sanders, Short Term 12

Best Documentary

  • 20 Feet From Stardom, Director/Producer: Morgan Neville, Producers: Gil Friesen & Caitrin Rogers
  • After Tiller, Directors/Producers: Martha Shane & Lana Wilson
  • Gideon’s Army, Diretor/Producer: Dawn Porter, Producer: Julie Goldman
  • The Act of Killing, Director/Producer: Joshua Oppenheimer, Producers: Joram Ten Brink, Christine Cynn, Anne Köhncke, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Michael Uwemedimo
  • The Square, Director: Jehane Noujaim, Producer: Karim Amer

Best International Film

  • A Touch of Sin, (China), Director: Jia Zhang-Ke
  • Blue is the Warmest Color, (France), Director: Abdellatif Kechiche
  • Gloria, (Chile), Director: Sebastián Lelio
  • The Great Beauty, (Italy), Director: Paolo Sorrentino
  • The Hunt, (Denmark), Director: Thomas Vinterberg

17th Annual Piaget Producers Award

  • Toby Halbrooks & James M. Johnston
  • Jacob Jaffke
  • Andrea Roa
  • Frederick Thornton


20th Annual Someone To Watch Award

  • My Sister’s Quinceañera, Director: Aaron Douglas Johnston
  • Newlyweeds, Director: Shaka King
  • The Foxy Merkins, Director: Madeline Olnek


19th Annual Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award

  • Kalyanee Mam, A River Changes Course
  • Jason Osder, Let the Fire Burn
  • Stephanie Spray & Pacho Velez, Manakamana


Robert Altman Award

Mud, Director: Jeff Nichols, Casting Director: Francine Maisler, Ensemble Cast: Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant, Reese Witherspoon