What to Read Next

Chiwetel Ejiofor, Keanu Reeves Among Spirit Award Presenters

Amanda Bell
Yahoo Movies
February 27, 2014

The 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards — or, as we sometimes like to think of it, the hip younger sibling of the Oscars — is but days away, and we can't wait to see what kind of funny business host Patton Oswalt comes up with for his turn at the Santa Monica beach-side podium. (Spoiler: It won't include any live birds, we know that much.)

Before we get there, though, we've got one more new round of presenters to add to the list of who will be on tap to dole out the celebratory goods this weekend.

Yahoo Movies is the first to announce that actors Chiwetel Ejiofor, Keanu Reeves, Aubrey Plaza, Jane Lynch, and Garrett Hedlund have all been added to the presenters list for Saturday's 29th Annual Spirit Awards event.

[Related: Q&A: Spirit Awards Host Patton Oswalt Sets the Record Straight: No Birds!]

Ejiofor, of course, is in the running this year for Best Male Lead for his portrayal of Solomon Northup in Steve McQueen's "12 Years a Slave," a picture which is also nominated in 6 other categories, including Best Feature. Meanwhile, Hedlund starred in fellow current Best Feature contender "Inside Llewyn Davis," which has a total of 3 Spirit Award nominations.

These five will join previously announced presenters for the show which include Oscar Isaac, Anna Kendrick, Jon Hamm, Paul Dano, Elizabeth Moss, Fred Armison, Sarah Paulson, Gong Li, Kathryn Hahn, Matthew McConaughey, Reese Witherspoon, Octavia Spencer, Jason Bateman, Michael Sheen, Greta Gerwig, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Andy Samberg, and Will Forte.

[Related: 2014 Independent Spirit Awards Nominations Announced]

The Independent Spirit Awards will take place on Saturday, March 1 in sunny Santa Monica, California, and Yahoo will be on hand to stream the red carpet arrivals and more live from 11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET until 1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET!

Be sure to tune in for all the exciting pre-show festivities right here on Yahoo Movies!

The ceremony later airs on IFC at 10 p.m. PT/ET.