‘Bridesmaids,’ ‘The Descendants’ and ‘Midnight in Paris’ get Writers Guild of America love; ‘The Artist’ ignored.

Thelma Adams
The Reel Breakdown

"Bridesmaids" continues to rise in the awards season, and "The Descendants" is holding on — but what happened to "The Artist"? It turns out there's a big flaw in the nominations for WGA Awards, which come in three flavors: Original Screenplay, Adapted Screenplay and Documentary Screenplay.

Here's the catch: Only scripts written under the guild's guidelines or those of several international partners are allowed to vie for these honors. The WGA restricts eligibility to scripts penned under the guild's guidelines or those of its international partners. So, what does this mean? A large number of potential Academy Awards screenplay nominees don't make the cut — including "Shame," "The Artist," "Drive," "Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy," "My Week with Marilyn," "Albert Nobbs," and "The Iron Lady."

Excluded writers should take heart: The WGA left last year's original screenplay Oscar winner, "The King's Speech," out of the running, too.


"50/50," Written by Will Reiser; Summit Entertainment

"Bridesmaids," Written by Annie Mumolo & Kristen Wiig; Universal Studios

"Midnight in Paris," Written by Woody Allen; Sony Pictures Classics

"Win Win," Screenplay by Tom McCarthy; Story by Tom McCarthy & Joe Tiboni; Fox Searchlight

"Young Adult," Written by Diablo Cody; Paramount Pictures


"The Descendants," Screenplay by Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon & Jim Rash; Based on the novel by Kaui Hart Hemming

"The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo," Screenplay by Steven Zaillian; Based on the novel by Stieg Larsson

"The Help," Screenplay by Tate Taylor; Based on the novel by Kathryn Stockett

"Hugo," Screenplay by John Logan; Based on the book The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

"Moneyball," Screenplay by Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin; Story by Stan Chervin; Based on the book by Michael Lewis


"Better This World," Written by Katie Galloway & Kelly Duane de la Vega

"If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front," Written by Marshall Curry and Matthew Hamachek

"Nostalgia for the Light," Written by Patricio Guzmán

"Pina," Screenplay by Wim Wenders

"Position Among the Stars," Script by Hetty Naaijkens-Retel Helmrich, Leonard Retel Helmrich

"Senna," Written by Manish Pandey; Producers Distribution Agency

The winners will be announced on Sunday, February 19th.