Amy Adams, Dwight Henry, 'Frankenweenie' Win L.A. Film Critics Awards

Steve Pond
The Wrap

Amy Adams has been named the year's best supporting actress by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, which honored the actress for her role in Paul Thomas Anderson's "The Master."

The odds-on Oscar favorite, Anne Hathaway for "Les Miserables," was named runner-up in the category by the L.A. critics, who often go in a different direction from other critics' groups.

Dwight Henry of "Beasts of the Southern Wild" was named best supporting actor by the LAFCA.

Henry had never acted before being chosen for Benh Zeitlin's low-budget indie set in the Louisiana bayous, and has been largely absent from the awards circuit because of his day job running a bakery in New Orleans.  

"Beasts" was also honored for its score, while "The Master" won the award for production design.

Tim Burton's "Frankenweenie" was named the year's best animated film, while "The Gatekeepers" was named best documentary.

Chris Terrio was honored for his screenplay to "Argo." The cinematography award went to Roger Deakins for the James Bond film "Skyfall," while editing went to Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg for "Zero Dark Thirty." (For his work on "Argo," Goldenberg was runner-up to himself in the category.)

Also read: 'Searching for Sugar Man' Rocks the IDA Awards

Although a few times in recent years the LAFCA has gone along with the year's critical consensus (picking, for instance, "The Social Network" and "The Hurt Locker"), it typically is one of the more adventurous and idiosyncratic groups. Its last three best-actress winners, for instance, have been Yoon Jeong-hee for "Poetry," Kim Hye-ja for "Mother" and Yolande Moreau for "Seraphine," all of whom went unmentioned in most other year-end awards.

The group's unusual choices may be due to a voting system that is not used by other major critics groups: Rather than casting votes secretly, LAFCA members are called on ramdonly to stand and announce their picks, a process that allows off-the-beaten-track contenders to gain momentum over the course of a single round.

Because of the system and the organization's often-quirky tastes, the LAFCA is a notably bad predictor of Oscar success. Only seven times in the group's 37-year history has its choice agreed with the Academy's pick for Best Picture – and after back-to-back matches with "Unforgiven" and "Schindler's List" in 1992 and 1993, LAFCA went 18 years with only a single case of agreement, for "The Hurt Locker" in 2009.

Last year's winner was "The Descendants." Other recent LAFCA winners include "The Social network," "WALL-E," "There Will Be Blood," "Letters from iwo Jima," "Brokeback Mountain" and "Sideways."

TheWrap will continue to update the winners as they are announced.

The winners:

Picture: Director: Actor: Actress: Supporting actor: Dwight Henry, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"    Runner-up: Christoph Waltz, "Django Unchained" Supporting actress: Amy Adams, "The Master"    Runner-up: Anne Hathaway, "Les Miserables" Screenplay: Chris Terrio, "Argo"    Runner-up: David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook" Foreign-language film: Animation: "Frankenweenie"    Runner-up: "It's Such a Beautiful Day" Documentary/Non-fiction film: "The Gatekeepers"    Runner-up: "Searching for Sugar Man" Cinematography: Roger Deakins, "Skyfall"    Runner-up: Mihai Malaimare Jr., "The Master" Editing: Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, "Zero Dark Thirty"    Runner-up: William Goldenberg, "Argo" Music/score: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"    Runner-up: Jonny Greenwood, "The Master" Production design: David Crank and Jack Fisk, "The Master"    Runner-up: Adam Stockhausen, "Moonrise Kingdom" Independent/Experimental film/video: "Leviathan" New Generation:

Related Articles: 

'Searching for Sugar Man' Rocks the IDA Awards