African-American Film Critics Assn. Announces Honorees for Annual Gala

Alex Stedman
VarietyDecember 3, 2013

The African-American Film Critics Assn. has announced its list of entertainment professional honorees, ranging from big movie producers to one of Variety‘s own.

Variety chief film critic Justin Chang will receive the inaugural Roger Ebert Award. In addition, Bob and Harvey Weinstein, founders of the Weinstein Co., will be feted with the Cinema Vanguard Award.

AAFCA will also honor the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences president Cheryl Boone Isaacs with the Horizon Award, Director Guild Assn. prexy Paris Barclay with the Legacy Award and Fox Searchlight’s senior VP of production Zola Mashariki with the Ashley Boone Award.

The org will announce their actor-actress-filmmaker winners Dec. 13. The ceremony will be held Jan. 31 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood.

The AAFCA was established in 2003 and provides support to the next generation of African-American film journalists and filmmakers. The org also honors the top movies of the year, as well as the top people in entertainment with their yearly gala.

Related stories

Hillary Clinton, John McCain, Colin Powell Cross Political Divide for 'Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom'

Weinstein Company May Boost Film Distribution From $50 Million Fund

The 30 Hottest Oscar Contenders: Most Competitive Race Ever?

Get more from Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Newsletter