How to Watch the 2020 Emmys, Even If You Don't Own a TV

Alexandra Whittaker
·3 mins read

From Cosmopolitan

  • The 2020 Emmy Awards air September 20 on ABC.

  • Here's how you can watch the show, even if you don't own a TV.

Surprise! The 2020 Emmys are still happening this year. Despite *gestures wildly* all of this, ABC took a look at the state of the world and decided we still deserve a bright spot in the form of a fun, glitzy award show. Host Jimmy Kimmel admitted he's bracing for a "beautiful disaster," so if you want to see all-virtual spectacle in all its strange glory, listen up.

Even if you haven't invested in an actual physical TV (remember those?), there are plenty of ways to tune into the chaos, even if it's only to see what first-time nominee Zendaya wears.

First of all, when are the Emmys?

The 2020 Emmy Awards will start at 8 p.m. EST on ABC. They're being hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, and there is no ABC pre-show to tune into like usual (probably because there isn't a red carpet this year ☹️).

How do I stream the show?

Well my friend, you've got options. If you've got a phone or computer handy, you can stream it at ABC.com (but check whether the stream's available in your area here first).

Otherwise, you could do that thing where you sign up for a “free trial” of either YouTube TV or Hulu + Live TV, because it'll be there too. Just don't forget to cancel if you don't want to pay for it.

What about the red carpet pre-show?

Unfortunately for you, me, and everyone who only cares about the fashun of it all, there is no formal Emmys red carpet this year. The entire show is virtual except for Jimmy Kimmel and his crew, who have the entire nearly-empty Staples Center to themselves.

BUT! There are still pre-show options, though what they'll actually broadcast, nobody really knows.

If you're curious, here's the info:

E! Countdown to the Red Carpet
4:30-6:00 PM ET/1:30-3:00 PM PT

Live From E!
6:00-8:00 PM ET/3:00-5:00 PM PT

PEOPLE & Entertainment Weekly Red Carpet Live: At Home!
7:00-8:00 PM ET/4:00-5:00 PM PT
Streaming on PEOPLE TV, PEOPLE.com, EW.com
Hosted by Jeremy Parsons and Makho Ndlovu

KTLA5's Countdown to the Emmys
2:00-5:00PM PT
Hosted by Sam Rubin, Jessica Holmes, Doug Kolk and Megan Henderson

E! After Party
11:00 PM - Midnight ET/8:00-9:00 PM PT

You Might Also Like