Washington renames streets around FedExField after two franchise legends

Chris Cwik
·3 mins read

The Washington Football Team will have a new address in 2020. If you want to send mail to the team, you’ll have to address it to 21300 Coach Gibbs Drive now. The franchise renamed the street after legendary head coach Joe Gibbs, who led the team to three Super Bowl wins.

That’s not the only change the team made, though. A main street leading to an entrance at FedExField has been named after former safety Sean Taylor. From now on, Sean Taylor Road will lead fans into the stadium.

The team made those moves as part of its rebrand. The team is also altering stadium signage at FedExField.

The franchise temporarily changed its name to the Washington Football Team for 2020, and is in the process of choosing a new name for the franchise.

Joe Gibbs calls team’s new address is an honor

In a statement, Gibbs, 79, said it was an “amazing honor” to have his name in the team’s address.

“It is an amazing honor to have the organization’s mailing address carry my name. My time with the team was marked by the strength and courage of our players and assistant coaches, both of whom deserve so much of the credit for the franchise winning three Super Bowl titles. Each of those winning seasons started with the preparation and dedication of practices and workouts at our training facility in the off-season. I had total support from Dan during my four years and I want to thank Dan and Tanya for their friendship to Pat and me. The organization has made several positive steps recently to include the additions of Jason Wright as president and Julie Donaldson as senior vice president of media and content that will strengthen the team and support of Coach Rivera. Ron has already gained the respect from the players and all of us Washington fans.”

Gibbs had two stints coaching the team. The first came from 1981 to 1992. Gibbs won all three Super Bowls during that tenure. His second came between 2004 and 2007. Gibbs compiled a 30-34 record in his return.

Joe Gibbs won three Super Bowls with Washington. (AP Photo/Haraz N. Ghanbari)
Joe Gibbs won three Super Bowls with Washington. (AP Photo/Haraz N. Ghanbari)

Sean Taylor continues to be honored by franchise

Taylor — who the team selected in the first round of the 2004 NFL Draft — continues to be honored by the team after his death in 2007. Taylor was shot and killed at his home during a burglary attempt. He was 24. The man who shot Taylor was sentenced to 57 years in prison in 2014.

In his four seasons in the NFL, Taylor picked off 12 passes and forced 8 fumbles. He made two Pro Bowls. Taylor was inducted into the team’s Ring of Honor in 2017.

More from Yahoo Sports: