How Netflix's Password Sharing Crackdown Affects You
The dreaded day has come: Netflix is officially putting an end to free password sharing in the U.S.
Following months of reports regarding the company's new password sharing rules—which have already been enacted in Honduras, Guatemala, Argentina and more countries—the streaming giant announced this week that the change is now being put into effect in the U.S.
Netflix shared the news on Tuesday, May 23, revealing in a blog post that U.S. subscribers will now be charged a fee for sharing their Netflix account across more than one household.
The change likely affects a large majority of Netflix users, so if you're wondering what this new policy means for you, here's everything you need to know:
How Much Is It Going to Cost?
Netflix subscribers in the U.S. will be charged $7.99 a month for sharing their account with someone from a different household. Even if you share your account with your parents or siblings, you'll have to pay the fee if you don't live with them.
How Many Additional Households Can I Add?
The standard Netflix plan ($15.49/month), allows one extra household to be added at $7.99, but it get's more complicated if you have multiple households to share your account with. Those users subscribed to the premium plan ($19.99 a month) can add up to two extra members, at $7.99 each.
The company notes that additional users can't be added to ad-supported plans or partner packages, or third-party billed accounts.
What About The Data Saved to My Member Profile?
If you're worried about losing all of the data of your watch history on your member profile, there's no need to fear. Anyone on your account can transfer a profile to a new membership that they pay for.
What About When I Travel?
The brand ensures that users will still able to access their Netflix accounts, even when they're on the go. This means you can still watch your favorite Netflix programs on a personal device, or even on a TV at a hotel or vacation home.
"A Netflix account is for use by one household," the company said in Tuesday's announcement. "Everyone living in that household can use Netflix wherever they are—at home, on the go, on holiday—and take advantage of new features like Transfer Profile and Manage Access and Devices."
For more information on the new policy, or to ask all of your lingering questions, you can visit https://help.netflix.com/en/.