The Live-Action Mulan Film on Disney+ is Coming This Weekend and You Definitely Don't Want to Wait

Tamara Fuentes
·3 mins read
Photo credit: Disney
Photo credit: Disney

From Seventeen

The highly anticipated live-action Mulan film is ready to make its big debut and it's not letting a theater shutdown to keep it from coming out. While the film had to take some steps back in its release due to the coronavirus pandemic, Disney came up with an alternative that will allow fans to not only watch the film, but also support the creators and everyone behind it. Plus, for fans who watch on the first weekend, there's even some fun extras that they can check out after they finish the film.

Here's everything you need to know about how to watch the live-action Mulan film.

When is the live-action Mulan film being released?

Fans will finally get the chance to watch the movie on September 4, 2020 starting at 3:00 AM ET/12:00 AM PT.

Can I watch the movie in a theater?

It depends on which country you currently live. For US viewers, the film will only be available on Disney+.

Since Mulan is on Disney+, does that mean it's free for subscribers?

Mulan is the first film that is being released under Disney+'s Premier Access, which mean viewers will have to pay an extra fee to watch it before it's released to all subscribers.

How much will I have to pay to watch Mulan on Disney+?

Along with your current subscription, fans will have to go to the Mulan Disney+ page and pay $29.99 to watch the film starting on September 4.

Will the movie be available without a fee in the future?

Disney+ subscribers will be able to watch the movie with just their subscription starting on December 4, 2020.

What extras do I get for paying for the film versus waiting?

There's always a chance that the live-action Mulan film might leave the service for a bit, but if you purchase the film with premiere, then you can always rewatch it on Disney+ even if it's unavailable for regular subscribers in the future.

What else is happening for the release of the film?

Gold House is once again working hard to make sure that Mulan gets the #GoldOpen that it so rightfully deserves. While fans will not get the chance to support the film in-theaters, they can do so at home and Gold House is making it totally sweeter to do so.

Starting on the movie's release date, Gold House will be hosting three watch parties on Disney+ and Q&As so fans can find out everything about the film. Each of the Q&As will be available on Gold House's Facebook pages and focus on a different theme from the movie.

LOYAL (Friday, September 4) co-hosted by Gold House, CAPE, WME, SocietyOne

  • Live Screening: 5PM PT / 8PM ET

  • Q&A: 7PM PT / 10PM ET

    • Starring Niki Caro, Yifei Liu, Yoson An, Jason Scott Lee, Tzi Ma, Rosalind Chao, Ron Yuan with Moderator Audrey Cleo Yap (Variety)

BRAVE (Saturday, September 5) co-hosted by Asian American Girl Club, Gold House, CAPE

  • Live Screening: 2PM PT / 5PM ET

  • Q&A: 4PM PT / 7PM ET

    • Starring Chen Tang, Doua Moua, Jimmy Wong, Jun Yu, Ron Yuan, with Moderators Ally Maki and Sherry Cola

TRUE (Sunday, September 6) co-hosted by Gold House, CAPE, East West Players

  • Live Screening: 2PM PT / 5PM ET

  • Q&A: 4PM PT / 7PM ET

    • Starring Ming-Na Wen, James Hong, Lea Salonga with Moderator Dino-Ray Ramos (Deadline)

Gold House also put together the ultimate list to help support local Chinese communities and businesses as you watch the movie, which fans can check out on their page.

You Might Also Like