Jasper Philipsen Wins Milano-Sanremo in a Thrilling Sprint Finish

115th milano sanremo 2024
Milano-Sanremo 2024 ResultsDario Belingheri - Getty Images
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

In the fastest edition of Milano-Sanremo ever, Jasper Philipsen won in a sprint finish, holding off Michael Matthews in a photo finish. It’s the first career Monument victory for Philipsen.

Philipsen, of Alpecin–Deceuninck, kept the Milano-Sanremo title within the team, after Mathieu van der Poel won in 2023. It wasn’t to be for van der Poel this time, as the race turned into a more pure sprint finish, and he finished tenth overall. But the world champion, who did some great work for Philipsen in the run into the finish, won’t be upset with his teammate taking the win on the day.

Matthews (Jayco–AlUla) finished a heart-breaking second to Philipsen. Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates), who did all his could to break the sprinters on the climbs leading into the finish, placed third.

This story will be updated.

Milano-Sanremo - Top 5

  1. Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin–Deceuninck): 6:14:44

  2. Michael Matthews (Jayco–AlUla): -:00

  3. Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates): -:00

  4. Mads Pedersen (Lidl-Trek): -:00

  5. Alberto Bettiol (EF Education–EasyPost): -:00

You Might Also Like