Draymond Green was ejected when a referee thought a curse directed at his teammate was directed at officials

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Scott Davis
·2 min read
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
draymond green ejection
Draymond Green argues a technical foul. via NBC Sports Bay Area/NBA
  • Draymond Green was ejected from a game on Thursday after cursing at a teammate.

  • Green cursed at Warriors rookie center James Wiseman after a turnover, but referees thought the curse was directed at them.

  • Warriors head coach Steve Kerr said after the game the officials told him the technical foul was a mistake.

  • Visit Insider's homepage for more stories.

Draymond Green was ejected from the Golden State Warriors' Thursday game against the New York Knicks for ... cursing at a teammate.

The incident occurred in the second quarter when Green attempted to make an entry pass to rookie center James Wiseman in the post. The pass was picked off by Knicks center Nerlens Noel.

As the two teams ran back down the court, Green issued an audible curse at Wiseman, presumably for not making a better effort to receive the pass.

A second later, Green was given a technical by an official, his second of the game, resulting in an ejection.

Green and Stephen Curry tried to plead Green's case, but the officials weren't having it. Green was done.

After the game, Warriors coach Steve Kerr told reporters that Ben Taylor, the crew chief of the night, told him that the ejection was a mistake.

"At halftime, Ben Taylor came out and told me that it was a mistake," Kerr said. "That [referee] John Butler didn't realize that Draymond was yelling at his teammate. He thought he was yelling at him."

Green told The Undefeated's Marc J. Spears that he thought the officials should have gathered to overturn the call.

"I'm just a bit confused," Green told Marc J. Spears of The Undefeated. "Officials can meet and make a decision on any call throughout the game, but when it comes to a technical that was clearly the wrong call, due to an official assuming I was talking to him when in fact I wasn't, that can't be overturned? Maybe it's time to take a look at that rule. I would love clarity on why that's the rule if, in fact, it is a rule."

The loss of Green hurt the Warriors, who were trailing by five at the time of his ejection, as they lost to the Knicks, 119-104.

Read the original article on Insider