Chloé Zhao Makes History at the Oscars by Winning Best Director for ‘Nomadland’

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later. (PureWow)
·1 min read
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

No movie would be complete without a mastermind behind the camera.

Tonight, Hollywood’s biggest stars gathered in Los Angeles for the 93rd annual Academy Awards. During the ceremony, Chloé Zhao took home the statuette for Best Director for her work on Nomadland. Not only is she the second woman to win this particular category, but she’s also the first female of Asian descent to be nominated for Best Director.

The filmmaker was nominated against a slew of worthy contenders, including Lee Isaac Chung for Minari, Emerald Fennell for Promising Young Woman, David Fincher for Mank and Thomas Vinterberg for Another Round.

The Academy Award for Best Director has been around since the Oscars debuted in 1929, though it was originally divided into “Dramatic” and “Comedy” categories. Last year’s list of nominees sparked controversy, since the Academy failed to include any female directors—just like the 2020 Golden Globes. Nevertheless, Bong Joon Ho won the award for Parasite over fellow nominees Martin Scorsese for The Irishman, Todd Phillips for Joker, Sam Mendes for 1917 and Quentin Tarantino for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.

Other previous winners include Alfonso Cuarón for Roma, Guillermo del Toro for The Shape of Water, Damien Chazelle for La La Land, Alejandro G. Iñárritu for The Revenant and Birdman, Ang Lee for Life of Pi, Michel Hazanavicius for The Artist, Tom Hooper for The King’s Speech, Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker, Danny Boyle for Slumdog Millionaire, Coen Brothers for No Country for Old Men and Martin Scorsese for The Departed.

Congratulations to Zhao on a job well done.

Stay up-to-date on every breaking story by subscribing here.

RELATED: Oscar Predictions 2021: From Chadwick Boseman to Glenn Close