You’re never too old to get into the Halloween spirit. But in at least one Virginia city, you are eventually too old to go trick-or-treating. Chesapeake, Virginia, has instituted an age limit on the Halloween tradition, CBS News reports.
The city has set limits on Halloween trick-or-treating, to only from 6 to 8 p.m., and only for children 12 and younger. And its ordinance code says anyone over 12 who gets caught trick-or-treating, or anyone who gets caught after curfew, could be charged with a misdemeanor and face fines from $25 to $100 or up to six months in jail.
But as long as a teen is well behaved and follows the rules, chances are he or she won’t get in trouble with the law. Chesapeake’s website notes police will be focused on keeping everyone safe, not being sticklers for the time or age limits. “For example, a 13-year-old safely trick or treating with a younger sibling is not going to have any issues,” the website reads. “That same child taking pumpkins from porches and smashing them in the street more likely will.”
In a statement, the city of Chesapeake noted their policy has been in place for 45 years, and during that time, nobody has been arrested or charged for violating it. Even still, an online petition is circulating calling for the city to reverse its policy.
Chesapeake isn’t the only area restricting ages for trick-or-treaters. Newport News and Norfolk, Virginia limit it to kids 12 and younger, or seventh grade and under. Violators would be guilty of a misdemeanor. Similar policies are also in place in towns in New Jersey, Illinois, and Mississippi, among other states. But as long as older kids don’t get into mischief, they will probably be just fine.
Follow House Beautiful on Instagram.
('You Might Also Like',)