'GMA' Celebrates 40th Anniversary With 40-Hour Live Marathon

To celebrate its 40th anniversary, “Good Morning America” is broadcasting nonstop for 40 consecutive hours in an on-air and livestreamed event featuring celebrity performances, special guests and the reunion of the morning show’s previous anchors David Hartman,Charlie Gibson, Sam Champion and Joan Lunden, among others.

The unprecedented 40-hour event kicked off at 5 p.m. ET on Tuesday and will run uninterrupted through 7 a.m. Nov. 19. The coverage began with ABC News anchors and correspondents from around the globe reporting on the catastrophic attacks in Paris and latest developments on the war on terror around the world.

The “40 for 40” event featured a special live One Direction concert for fans, including“Drag Me Down," and the first U.S. performance of the new hit song, "Perfect," from their new album “Made in the A.M."

Viewers went behind the scenes of the rehearsals for “Dancing With the Stars” as the remaining competitors prepare for the season finale. Former mirror ball champion and “GMA” contributor Melissa Rycroft was joined by “Dancing” pros and mirror ball champions Tony Dovolani and Peta Murgatroyd who talked to the final contestants and their partners backstage. "GMA" was also live from the red carpet for the premiere of the Netflix original series “Marvel’s Jessica Jones.”

Mark Cuban, Daymond John and Kevin O’Leary, stars of ABC’s hit show “Shark Tank,” joined the event, answering viewer questions, and “GMA” contributor Tory Johnson is unveiling an exclusive deal ever hour of the 40-hour livestream -- 40 deals in 40 hours all under $40 -- in our biggest “GMA” Deals and Steals event ever.

The event will end on Nov. 19 live on "GMA" with an epic 40th anniversary reunion of anchors past and present. In addition to Champion, Hartman and Lunden, the former anchors and on-air faces will appear next to current co-anchors Robin Roberts, George Stephanopoulos, Amy Robach, Lara Spencer and Ginger Zee.

Among those who will appear on the show are Nancy Dussault, Sandy Hill, Joan Lunden, Charlie Gibson, Kevin Newman, Lisa McRee, Diane Sawyer, Steve Bell, Kathleen Sullivan, Mike Schneider, Morton Dean, Antonio Mora, Josh Elliott, Dr. Tim Johnson, Dr. Nancy Snyderman, John Coleman, Spencer Christian and Mike Barz.

For full coverage of GMA’s “40 for 40” live steam anniversary event, visit ABCNews.com/GMA40.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting