Xiu Xiu Announce Duets Album, Share New Song With Liz Harris: Listen

Xiu Xiu have announced a new album of duets. It’s called OH NO and it’s out March 26 via Polyvinyl. It features collaborations with Sharon Van Etten, Chelsea Wolfe, Alice Bag, Haley Fohr of Circuit des Yeux, Owen Pallett, and Twin Shadow, plus members of Deerhoof, Drab Majesty, Liars, and Shearwater. The first song from the album is “Bottle of Rum,” which is a collaboration with Liz Harris of Grouper. Watch its video, directed by Xiu Xiu’s Angela Seo, and find the full tracklist below.

Jamie Stewart said in a press release that he drunkenly wrote the song on a bajo quinto (10-string guitar-like instrument used often in Tejano, conjunto and norteño music) while listening to Grouper’s Dragging a Dead Deer Up a Hill song “Heavy Water/I’d Rather Be Sleeping.”

“I had asked Liz Harris, who is an old friend, if she would sing on this new record of duets,” Stewart said. “Initially I thought of her for another song but she specifically, although not knowing she had been the inspiration behind it in the first place, asked to be on this one. If the stars ever have aligned… well then.”

Xiu Xiu: OH NO

$14.00, Amazon



01 Xiu Xiu / Sharon Van Etten: “Sad Mezcalita”
02 Xiu Xiu / Deb Demure: “I Cannot Resist”
03 Xiu Xiu / Haley Fohr: “The Grifters”
04 Xiu Xiu / Greg Saunier: “Goodbye for Good”
05 Xiu Xiu / Susanne Sachsse: “OH NO”
06 Xiu Xiu / Angus Andrew: “Rumpus Room”
07 Xiu Xiu / Angela Seo: “Fuzz Gong Fight”
08 Xiu Xiu / Owen Pallett: “I Dream of Someone Else Entirely”
09 Xiu Xiu / Chelsea Wolfe: “One Hundred Years” (The Cure cover)
10 Xiu Xiu / Fabrizio Modonese Palumbo: “A Classic Screw”
11 Xiu Xiu / Jonathan Meiburg: “It Bothers Me All the Time”
12 Xiu Xiu / George Lewis Jr.: “Saint Dymphna”
13 Xiu Xiu / Alice Bag: “Knock Out”
14 Xiu Xiu / Liz Harris: “A Bottle of Rum”
15 Xiu Xiu / Valerie Diaz: “ANTS”

<h1 class="title">Xiu Xiu: OH NO</h1>

Xiu Xiu: OH NO

Watch Now: Pitchfork Video.

Originally Appeared on Pitchfork