Warner Bros. Announces 10 DC Movies, 3 Lego Movies and 3 'Harry Potter' Spin-Offs

Henry Cavill in Man of Steel
Henry Cavill in Man of Steel

Henry Cavill in ‘Man of Steel’

By Graeme McMillan

Congratulations, Marvel: you now have a fully-fledged superhero competitor. Warner Bros. CEO Kevin Tuijihara announced the studio’s plans for its DC Entertainment properties this morning, naming ten DC movies between 2016 and 2020, in addition to three Harry Potter spin-offs and three Lego movies.

In August, Warners announced dates for nine untitled DC releases for those years at the same time as it moved Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice from May 2016 to March that year in order to avoid a showdown with Marvel’s Captain America 3. Some of the projects had been rumored and quasi-announced (Dwayne Johnson confirmed the existence of a Shazam project when he announced that he would be playing Black Adam last month, for example), but today’s announcement is the first time all 10 movies have been named.

RELATED: 'Batman V Superman': First Official Superman Image Released

Those 10 DC movies named are:

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice directed by Zack Snyder (2016)
Suicide Squad directed by David Ayer (2016) 
Wonder Woman starring Gal Gadot (2017)
Justice League Part One directed by Snyder, with Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill and Amy Adams reprising their roles (2017)
The Flash starring Ezra Miller (2018)
Aquaman starring Jason Momoa (2018)
Shazam (2019)
Justice League Part Two directed by Zack Snyder (2019)
Cyborg starring Ray Fisher (2020)
Green Lantern (2020)

In a press release following Tuijhara’s announcement, Warners noted that the DC slate consisted of “at least” these 10 movies, “as well as standalone Batman and Superman films.” It’s worth noting that each of the solo movies feature characters who are currently members of the comic book incarnation of the Justice League, although whether or not the same will be true in their movie incarnations remains unknown (For example, Gal Gadot isn’t listed as appearing in the Justice League movie, interestingly enough, but Amy Adams’ Lois Lane is).

Outside of the DC properties, the studio will also further explore J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter mythology with three movies to be released in 2016, 2018 and 2020 based on her Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them novella. The first movie, which features Rowling’s screenwriting debut, will be directed by Potter veteran David Yates.

Warners’ Lego plans include three releases over the next four years, starting with the Charlie Bean-directed Ninjago in 2016, followed by The Lego Batman Movie in 2017 (as exclusively revealed by THR last week) and The Lego Movie 2 in 2018.