Two Limited Edition David Bowie Albums Due for Record Store Day

Parlophone Records is prepping two limited edition David Bowie albums for this year's Record Store Day. The never-released Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) and the Hunky Dory-era BOWPROMO will both hit shelves on Apr. 22.

Cracked Actor will come in a 3LP set and is, according to a release, "the first official release of this Philly Dogs Tour show from September 1974, some of which was featured in Alan Yentob's BBC documentary, Cracked Actor. The full concert is documented on this triple vinyl five-sided album. The sixth side features an etching of the Diamond Dogs era Bowie logo."

All of the multi-track tapes for Cracked Actor were collected in November for the first time and mixed by longtime Bowie collaborator/producer Tony Visconti. The package comes with newly commissioned artwork featuring rare and unseen photos from the 1974 Universal Amphitheatre show by Terry O'Neill and Jamie Andrews. According to the statement, the Record Store Day release sounds much different from the 1974 David Live album, because it features a new band that included backup singer Luther Vandross, as well as guitarists Earl Slick and Carlos Alomar, pianist Mike Garson, sax player David Sanborn, conga player Pablo Rosario, bassist Doug Raunch and drummer Greg Errico.

BOWPROMO was originally pressed in a limited quantity in 1971 and it has alternate remixes of songs that would eventually appear on that year's Hunky Dory. The A-side has seven songs that were new at the time, five of which ended up on Hunky Dory, with five other songs on the B-side by singer Dana Gillespie.

Track listing for Cracked Actor:

Side 1:





Rebel Rebel


​Moonage Daydream


Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing

Side 2:



Suffragette City


Aladdin Sane


All The Young Dudes


Cracked Actor

Side 3:

Rock 'n' Roll With Me


Knock On Wood


It's Gonna Be Me


Space Oddity

Side 4:

Diamond Dogs


Big Brother



Side 5:

The Jean Genie


Rock 'n' Roll Suicide


John, I'm Only Dancing (Again)

Side 6:

David Bowie logo etching


Tracklist for BOWPROMO:

Oh! You Pretty Things


Eight Line Poem




It Ain't Easy


Queen Bitch




Bombers / Andy Warhol Intro