System of a Down Release First New Songs in 15 Years

Daniel Kohn
·1 min read

Click here to read the full article on SPIN.

Whoa! Raise your hand if you saw System of a Down releasing new music this year — especially after the political back-and-forth between singer Serj Tankian and drummer John Dolmayan.

On Friday, the band released a pair of new songs in “Protect the Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz.” The band united to show support for their native Armenia, which is currently embroiled in a conflict with Azerbaijan.

More from SPIN:

Listen to the songs below.

Earlier this year, we spoke with Tankian about his new electronic solo album and it compares to Toxicity.

The band spoke to Rolling Stone about the origins of the music and why the conflict inspired them to put aside their creative differences, which you can read here.

To see our running list of the top 100 greatest guitarists of all time, click here.