Pond Announce New Album Stung!, Share New Single: Stream

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

The post Pond Announce New Album Stung!, Share New Single: Stream appeared first on Consequence.

Psych rockers Pond are back to announce their 10th album, Stung!, arriving on June 21st via Spinning Top Records.

Stung! may be Pond’s 10th album since their ramshackle 2009 debut Psychedelic Mango, but it is their first double album. Comprised of 14 tracks, the Australian band names Fleetwood Mac’s Tusk and Prince’s Sign o’ the Times as influences on Stung!, and the album promises Pond at their most unfettered and expansive. They previously previewed Stung! with the album’s first single, “Neon River,” back in January, which featured the band’s typical hallmarks: majestic melodies, fuzzy guitars, and unbridled enthusiasm.

For the next offering from Stung!, the band have shared the album’s title track, “(I’m) Stung.” With sunny acoustic guitar strums and an impassioned performance from frontman Nick Allbrook, “(I’m) Stung” is warm and whimsical. Allbrook narrates the consuming feeling of having a crush on someone and being turned down: “It’s so straightforward/ Being rejected/ I got stung/ But it ain’t infected” goes the song’s first lines. Pond have also shared the song’s music video, which features a silver-painted Allbrook and the band parading around a desert sand dune with a kite resembling a bee. Watch the video below.

In addition to a slew of European and Australia/New Zealand dates in the summer and fall, Pond are set to play a brief run of shows in the US this May. The dates begin in Nashville on May 1st and end in San Diego on May 18th, with shows in Atlanta, Austin, Denver, Los Angeles, and more in between; get tickets to all their upcoming tour dates here.

Get Pond Tickets Here

Stung! is Pond’s first album since 2021’s 9. Last year, we named Pond’s 2015 album Man It Feels Like Space Again as one of the top 50 stoner albums of all time.

Stung! Album Artwork:

Pond Stung! Album Artwork New Album I'm Stung Neon river
Pond Stung! Album Artwork New Album I'm Stung Neon river

Stung! Tracklist:
01. Constant Picnic
02. (I’m) Stung
03. Neon River
04. So Lo
05. Black Lung
06. Sunrise For The Lonely
07. Elf Bar Blues
08. Edge of the World Pt. 3
09. Stars In Silken Sheets
10. Boys Don’t Crash
11. O, UV Ray
12. Last Elvis
13. Elephant Gun
14. Fell From Grace With The Sea

Pond Announce New Album Stung!, Share New Single: Stream
Paolo Ragusa

Popular Posts

Subscribe to Consequence’s email digest and get the latest breaking news in music, film, and television, tour updates, access to exclusive giveaways, and more straight to your inbox.