Ornette Coleman’s Albums Getting Vinyl Reissue

The 10xLP set features Coleman’s six studio albums from 1959 to 1961

Ornette Coleman’s albums are getting a vinyl reissue. Ornette Coleman: the Atlantic Years includes Coleman’s six studio albums released on Atlantic from 1959 to 1961, as well as session outtakes. The 10xLP box set arrives May 11 via Rhino. The collection includes The Shape Of Jazz To Come (1959), Change Of The Century (1959), This Is Our Music (1960), Free Jazz: A Collective Improvisation (1960), Ornette! (1961), and Ornette On Tenor (1961). It also features three compilations released in the ’70s—The Art Of Improvisers (1970), Twins (1971), and To Whom Who Keeps A Record (1975)—which include outtakes from all six studio albums.

The Ornette Coleman Legacy, composed of six songs released for the first time in 1993, is receiving its debut vinyl release within the set. Finally, the collection features new liner notes written by Ben Ratliff, plus rare pictures taken by legendary jazz photographer Lee Friedlander.

Revisit Pitchfork’s Afterword feature on Ornette Coleman.

See the video.