Nicki Minaj a Winner at Inaugural Caribbean Music Awards (Full Winners List)

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Nicki Minaj, who was born in Trinidad and Tobago, was among the winners at the inaugural Caribbean Music Awards, which were held at Kings Theatre in Brooklyn on Thursday (Aug. 31). “Likkle Miss,” which Minaj recorded with Skeng, won collaboration of the year (dancehall/reggae). The track appeared on Minaj’s greatest hits set, Queen Radio: Volume 1, which entered the Billboard 200 at No. 10 in August 2022.

The versatile Minaj is up for six awards, including video of the year and artist of the year, at next week’s MTV Video Music Awards, which will be presented on Tuesday (Sept. 12).

More from Billboard

Machel Montano received a lifetime achievement award and also won male artist of the year (soca). Beres Hammond received an elite icon award and also won male artist of the year (reggae). Other double winners at the event, which was hosted by Wyclef Jean, were Kabaka Pyramid, Ding Dong and Patrice Roberts.

Reggae legend Buju Banton received a humanitarian award for his philanthropic foundation, the Buju Banton Foundation.

Performers included Wayne Wonder, Alison Hinds, Jada Kingdom, Dexta Daps, Kranium, Nailah Blackman, Ding Dong, Rupee, Baby Cham, Toni-Ann Singh, Romain Virgo, Angela Hunte and Stone Love. The event also featured appearances from Doug E. Fresh, Skeng, MYA, Spice, Morgan Heritage, Konshens, Karlie Redd and Michael Rainey Jr.

The event, which streamed via Tempo Networks/YouTube and Instagram through @CaribbeanEliteMagazine, celebrated Caribbean music in all forms, including reggae, dancehall, soca and zouk.

Here’s a complete list of winners from the inaugural Caribbean Music Awards.

EP of the year (dancehall): Alkaline, The Ripple EFFX

Impact award (dancehall): Chronic Law

Impact award (reggae): Kabaka Pyramid

Impact award (soca): Viking Ding Dong

Performer of the year (soca): Mr. Killa

Album of the year (dancehall): Masicka, 438

Female artist of the year (dancehall): Spice

Male artist of the year (dancehall): Ding Dong

Male artist of the year (reggae): Beres Hammond

Male artist of the year (soca): Machel Montano

Female artist of the year (soca): Patrice Roberts

People’s choice award: Kes

Artist of the decade: Vybz Kartel

Collaboration of the year (soca): GBM Nutron & DJ Spider, “Down Dey”

Collaboration of the year (dancehall/reggae): Skeng & Nicki Minaj, “Likkle Miss”

Video of the year (dancehall/reggae): Popcaan & Toni-Anne Singh, “Next to Me”

Video of the year (soca): Patrice Roberts, “Mind My Business”

Best new artist (dancehall): Valiant

Best new artist (reggae): Samora

Best new artist (soca): Tempa

Kompa band of the year: Klass

Dance song of the year: Ding Dong, “BOUNCE”

Performer of the year (dancehall): Dexta Daps

Album of the year (reggae): Kabaka Pyramid, The Kalling

Lifetime achievement award: Machel Montano

Elite icon award: Beres Hammond

Humanitarian award: Buju Banton // The Buji Baton Foundation

Best of Billboard

Click here to read the full article.