Nickelback to Be Inducted Into Canadian Music Hall of Fame at 2023 Juno Awards

UPDATE (Jan. 17): Juno-winning country star Tenille Townes will take the Junos stage for the first time at the 2023 show on March 13. Other additions to the lineup include AP Dhillon, dance-pop star Rêve and songwriter-producer duo Banx & Ranx together with singer-songwriter Preston Pablo.

PREVIOUSLY (Nov. 30, 2022): Actor Simu Liu is set to return as host of the 2023 Juno Awards. Liu will be the first person to host the Junos two years in a row since comedian and actor Russell Peters, who hosted in 2008-09. Liu, a Chinese-born Canadian actor, is best known for portraying Shang-Chi in the 2021 blockbuster Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings. Last year, in his Juno hosting debut, Liu gave an “I am Canadian!” speech that went viral.

More from Billboard

PREVIOUSLY (Nov. 15, 2022): Nickelback will be inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame as part of the 2023 Juno Awards. The show, which is Canada’s equivalent of the Grammys, will be held at Rogers Place in Edmonton, Alberta, on March 13. The band was formed in the town of Hanna, Alberta.

“Returning home to Alberta, where everything started for us, is truly a full circle, milestone moment for the band,” Nickelback frontman Chad Kroeger said in a statement. “We take so much pride in our Canadian roots and are extremely humbled by this honour.”



Nickelback Reflects on How Far They've Come: 'We Just Didn't Quit on Ourselves'


Nickelback will perform on the show as part of the tribute. It will be their sixth performance on the Junos.

Since winning their first Juno in 2001 for best new group, Nickelback has amassed a total of 12 awards at the show. They won group of the year four times between 2002 and 2009; single of the year for “How You Remind Me” in 2002; album of the year for Dark Horse in 2009; and the Fan Choice award in both 2004 and 2009, among other awards.

Nickelback has a mixed track record at awards shows outside of their native Canada. They have yet to win a Grammy (despite six nods over the years, including record of the year for “How You Remind Me”). They have, however, won seven Billboard Music Awards, two American Music Awards, two MTV Video Music Awards and one People’s Choice Award, among others.

Nickelback will debut their tenth studio album, Get Rollin’ on Nov. 18. The group’s last seven studio albums made the top 10 on the Billboard 200. They topped that chart with All the Right Reasons in 2005.

The Canadian Music Hall of Fame was established by CARAS in 1978 to acknowledge artists who have made an outstanding contribution to Canadian music.

Previous Hall of Fame inductees include both solo artists (such as 2022 recipient Deborah Cox) and groups. Other pop and rock bands that have receive the honor include The Guess Who, The Band, Rush, Triumph, Loverboy, April Wine, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, Barenaked Ladies and Cowboy Junkies.

Calgary, Alberta native and four-time Juno nominee Tate McRae will also perform at the show. McRae, 19, made the top 20 on the Billboard Hot 100 with “You Broke Me First

Manager and promoter Ron Sakamoto will be the recipient of the Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award. A longtime collaborator of Canadian superstar Shania Twain, Sakamoto has represented some of the biggest names in music, including The Guess Who, Bryan Adams, Bee Gees, KISS, and Keith Urban. Sakamoto will receive the honor at the 2023 Juno Opening Night Awards on March 11.

This will be the Juno Awards’ first time in Edmonton in 19 years. The show, produced by Insight Productions, will broadcast and stream live across Canada at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Radio One, CBC Music, CBC Listen, and globally at and on CBC Music’s Facebook, YouTube and Twitter pages.

Click here to read the full article.