Simple Minds Share 'Big Music' Tracklist, Post Video for 'Honest Town': Watch

Veteran Scottish alternative rock outfit Simple Minds will release Big Music next month, their first album of new material in five years.

The album is the result of collaborations old and new, including co-writer Iain Cook of Glasgow band Chvrches and producers Steve Osborne, Andy Wright and Steve Hillage, who worked on the 1981 fan-favorites recordings Sons And Fascination / Sister Feelings Call.

The video for the first single "Honest Town," a song inspired by the memories of frontman Jim Kerr’s late mother, was premiered recently on YouTube. The song was co-written with Cook and, musically, at least, has echoes of the darker electronic textures of Simple Minds' earlier recordings.

The new studio album, the 16th in Simple Minds’ career, will arrive through Caroline International on Nov. 3. A major U.K. & Europe tour will follow in 2015, dates for which are posted on the band’s official website.

Kerr and lead guitarist Charlie Burchill formed Simple Minds in the late 1970s; they previously performed in Glasgow punk outfit Johnny & the Self Abusers.

Simple Minds had a string of hits in the '80s and early '90s, including "Don't You Forget About Me," "Waterfront," "Promised You a Miracle" and "Belfast Child." The band's catalog has sold more than 30 million units worldwide. In the United Kingdom, five of the group's albums debuted at No. 1. Their most recent album, Graffiti Soul, opened in the U.K. top 10 following its 2009 release.

Kerr and Burchill are still mainstays in the line-up, as is long-time drummer Mel Gaynor. According to a rep, the band played to 130,000 people in the U.K. alone in 2014, the most ever in one year.

'Big Music' tracklist:


"Midnight Walking"

"Honest Town"

"Big Music"


"Blood Diamonds"

"Let The Day Begin"

"Concrete And Cherry Blossom"


"Kill Or Cure"

"Broken Glass Park"

"Spirited Away"