Max and Iggor Cavalera Announce Re-Recording of Sepultura’s Schizophrenia, Unveil “Escape to the Void”: Stream

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

The post Max and Iggor Cavalera Announce Re-Recording of Sepultura’s Schizophrenia, Unveil “Escape to the Void”: Stream appeared first on Consequence.

Original Sepultura members Max and Iggor Cavalera have announced a re-recording of the legendary thrash band’s Schizophrenia, out June 21st via Nuclear Blast Records.

It marks the third re-recorded Sepultura album from the Cavalera brothers following new versions of their earliest works Morbid Visions and Bestial Devastation. They appear to be going through the discography in chronological order, with Schizophrenia being Sepultura’s vaunted third album from 1987.

Cavalera shared the re-recorded take of “Escape to the Void” as the lead single for the release. The killer riffs and energy of the original remain intact, while the modern recording and production offers a better glimpse at the technicality under the hood. The original Schizophrenia is a beloved album, though its production left something to be desired. That’s where these re-recordings excel — revisionist in a good way.

“The Third World Trilogy is finally complete with Schizophrenia, Bestial Devastation, and Morbid Visions, all three Brazilian underground gems!” enthused Max in a press release. “To me, Schizophrenia is the ultimate death/thrash experiment! I was inspired to take on the world and this recording shows my commitment is relentless! This one is for all the generations to enjoy! Play at Max volume!”

Added Iggor: “1987 was a very progressive year for metal, with releases like Celtic Frost’s Into The Pandemonium, Voivod’s Killing Technology, and Bathory’s Under the Sign of the Black Mark, so it was no surprise on how we approached Schizophrenia pushing our boundaries from a black/death metal sound to a more thrash metal aesthetics. We still had some ideas from Morbid Visions and some new songs. I’m very proud of the songwriting and even more proud of our re-recordings.”

The re-recorded album tracked at Focusrite Room in Mesa, Arizona, with mixing and mastering by Arthur Rizk. In addition to Max and Iggor, the band lineup for the new recording features Travis Stone (Pig Destroyer) on lead guitar and Max’s son Igor Amadeus Cavalera on bass.

Max left Sepultura in 1996 and formed Soulfly, while Iggor exited Sepultura a decade later in 2006. The brothers will be touring under the moniker Cavalera as they support the new release with a UK/European tour this summer (get tickets here).

Meanwhile, the current incarnation of Sepultura — featuring classic members Andreas Kisser and Paulo Jr. alongside longtime singer Derrick Green and new drummer Greyson Nekrutman — recently embarked on a farewell tour.

Pre-order Schizophrenia via Nuclear Blast Records. Stream the video for “Escape to the Void” below.

Schizophrenia (Re-Recorded) Artwork:

cavalera artwork
cavalera artwork

Schizophrenia (Re-Recorded) Tracklist:
01. Intro – Re-Recorded
02. From the Past Comes the Storms – Re-Recorded
03. To the Wall – Re-Recorded
04. Escape to the Void – Re-Recorded
05. Inquisition Symphony – Re-Recorded
06. Screams Behind the Shadows – Re-Recorded
07. Septic Schizo – Re-Recorded
08. The Abyss – Re-Recorded
09. R.I.P. (Rest in Pain) – Re-Recorded
10. Nightmares of Delirium – New, never released

Max and Iggor Cavalera Announce Re-Recording of Sepultura’s Schizophrenia, Unveil “Escape to the Void”: Stream
Jon Hadusek

Popular Posts

Subscribe to Consequence’s email digest and get the latest breaking news in music, film, and television, tour updates, access to exclusive giveaways, and more straight to your inbox.