Locarno Film Festival Winners: ‘Rule 34’ Takes Golden Leopard

·3 min read

Brazilian filmmaker Julia Murat clinched the Golden Leopard prize in the main international competition of the 75th Locarno Film Festival with her latest feature Rule 34.

The film follows Simone, a young law student who finds a passion for defending women in abuse cases. Yet her own sexual interests lead her to a world of violence and eroticism.

More from Deadline

Rule 34 is Murat’s third feature film after Pendular, which picked up the FIPRESCI Prize at the 2017 Berlinale. The Brazillian filmmaker’s first film, Found Memories, debuted at Venice.

Locarno’s Golden Leopard comes with a CHF 75,000 cash prize to be shared equally between the director and the producer. Murat produced the film alongside Tatiana Leite.

This year’s Golden Leopard competition jury was comprised of Swiss producer Michel Merkt, British filmmaker Prano Bailey-Bond, French filmmaker Alain Guiraudie, American producer William Horberg, and Italian director Laura Samani.

In other main competition awards, the CHF 30,000 Special Jury Prize of the Cities of Ascona and Losone went to Italian director Alessandro Comodin’s Gigi la legge, which follows Gigi, a rural traffic officer whose world is shifted after a young girl throws herself under a train.

Costa Rican filmmaker Valentina Maure and actors Daniela Marín and Reinaldo Amien Gutiérrez picked up the best director, actress, and actor awards respectively for Tengo sueños eléctricos. The flick follows Eva, a 16-year-old girl who lives with her mother, her younger sister, and their cat, but wants to move in with her estranged father. Clinging onto him, she tries to balance between the tenderness and sensitivity of teenage life.

This was the first full-scale edition of Locarno since the beginning of the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020. The festival opened with the international festival premiere of the Brad Pitt-starrer Bullet Train and hosted retrospective screenings of Douglas Sirk’s work.

Check out the full list of winners below:


Golden Leopard (Pardo d’Oro)
Rule 34, dir: Julia Murat

Special Jury Prize of the Cities of Ascona and Losone
Gigi la legge, dir: Alessandro Comodin

Pardo for Best Direction of the City and Region of Locarno for the best directed film
Tengo sueños eléctricos, Valentina Maurel

Pardo for Best Actress
Tengo sueños eléctricos, Daniela Marín Navarro

Pardo for Best Actor
Tengo sueños eléctricos, Reinaldo Amien Gutiérrez


Pardo d’oro Concorso Cineasti del presente to the best film
Svetlonoc (Nightsiren), dir: Tereza Nvotová

Best Emerging Director Award of the City and Region of Locarno
Sigurno Mjesto (Safe Place), Juraj Lerotić

Special Jury Prize Ciné+
Yak Tam Katia? (How Is Katia?), Christina Tynkevych

Pardo for Best Actress
Yak Tam Katia? (How Is Katia?), Anastasia Karpenko

Pardo for Best Actor
Sigurno Mjesto (Safe Place), Goran Marković

Special Mention
Den Siste VÅren (Sister, What Grows Where Land Is Sick?), Franciska Eliassen


Swatch First Feature Award
Sigurno Mjesto (Safe Place), Juraj Lerotić

Special Mentions
Love Dog, Bianca Lucas
De Noche Los Gastos Son Pardos, Valentin Merz


Concorso Corti d’autore
Pardino d’oro Swiss Life for the Best Auteur Short Film
Big Bang, Carlos Segundo

Concorso internazionale
Pardino d’oro SRG SSR for the Best International Short Film
Soberane (Soverign), Wara

Pardino d’argento SRG SSR for the International Competition
Buurman Abdi (Neighbour Abdi), Douwe Dijkstra

Pardi di domani Best Direction Award – BONALUMI Engineering
Hardly Working, Total Refusal

Medien Patent Verwaltung AG Award
Mulika, Maisha Maene

Special Mention
Madar Tamame Rooz Doa Mikhanad (Mother Prays All Day Long), Hoda Taheri

Short Film candidate of the Locarno Film Festival for the European Film Awards
Buurman Abdi (Neighbour Abdi), Douwe Dijkstra

Concorso Nazionale

Pardino d’oro Swiss Life for the Best Swiss Short Film
Euridice, Euridice, Lora Mure-Ravaud

Pardino d’argento Swiss Life for the National Competition
Der Molchkongress, Matthias Sahli

Best Swiss Newcomer Award
Heartbeat, Michèle Flury

Matter Out Of Time, Nikolaus Geyrhalter

Special Mentions
É Noite Na America (It It Night In America), Ana Vaz
Baliqlara Xutbe (Sermone Of The Fish), Hilal Baydarov

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.