Lainey Wilson, HARDY Are Early 2023 CMA Awards Winners

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Lainey Wilson and HARDY are already winners heading into tonight’s (Nov. 8) 2023 CMA Awards.

This morning, the Country Music Association revealed that HARDY and Wilson’s dramatic murder ballad, “Wait in the Truck,” picked up trophies for musical event of the year and music video of the year.

More from Billboard

“Wait in the Truck” was produced by HARDY, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt and Derek Wells, while Justin Clough directed the music video.

These mark HARDY’s first CMA Awards wins, while Wilson took home new artist of the year and female vocalist of the year during last year’s CMAs. Part of the song’s strength is the charismatic vocal interplay between the two singers, as well as the message tackling domestic abuse.

“You rarely hear songs like this that bring light to heavy situations that people are really scared to talk about,” Wilson previously told Billboard of “Wait in the Truck.” “I feel, in my heart, that our job is to sing about the things that people are afraid to talk about. It’s a song that definitely starts a conversation.”

Co-producer Moi also previously noted, “When somebody’s had the guts to write something completely alternative and also make it sound completely mainstream at the same time, it’s a unicorn-type song.”

Heading into this year’s ceremony, Wilson leads the nominees with nine total nominations (including entertainer of the year and female vocalist of the year), while HARDY picked up four nods. “Wait in the Truck” is also up for both single of the year and song of the year.

The 57th annual CMA Awards will air tonight on ABC from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena, beginning at 8 p.m. ET. Wilson and HARDY are both slated as performers, as well as Kelsea Ballerini, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Luke Combs, Dan+Shay, Jordan Davis, Alan Jackson, Jelly Roll, K. Michelle, Little Big Town and more.

The 57th Annual CMA Awards is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the executive producer, Alan Carter is the director and Jon Macks is the head writer.

Best of Billboard