Kanye West's Donda Album, Featuring Multiple Celeb Cameos, Is Finally Released

UPDATE: Hours after Kanye West's new album Donda was finally released, the rapper wrote on Instagram, "UNIVERSAL PUT MY ALBUM OUT WITHOUT MY APPROVAL AND THEY BLOCKED JAIL 2 FROM BEING ON THE ALBUM." Universal Music Group has not commented.


Kanye West's album is finally here.

On Sunday, Aug. 29, the 44-year-old rapper and designer's long-awaited 10th studio album Donda was finally released more than a month after its original release date and three large listening parties later, most recently a Chicago stadium event, during which his soon-to-be ex-wife Kim Kardashian appeared onstage in a wedding gown.

Donda, which is named after Kanye's late mother and which includes religious themes, was released on Apple Music, Amazon Music and Spotify. The record contains 27 tracks, including a title song, which features surprise background vocals from Ariana Grande. This marks her first collaboration with the rapper. The album also includes the track "Believe What I Say," which samples Lauryn Hill's 1998 hit "Doo Wop (That Thing)."

Other artists featured on Donda include Travis Scott, The Weeknd, Chris Brown, Kid Cudi, Playboi Carti, Young Thug, The Lox, late rapper Pop Smoke and Jay-Z, who contributed a verse to the track "Jail."

Inside Kanye West's Donda Event in Chicago

The latter is also credited as a co-writer of the song, along with several others. One of them is Marilyn Manson, a.k.a. Brian Warner, who appeared at Kanye's most recent listening party in Chicago. The shock rocker is currently facing accusations of sexual assault and other misconduct, which he has denied.

Kanye West, Marilyn Manson, Donda Chicago Event
Brian Prahl/MEGA

Donda also contains a sequel song, "Jail pt 2," which was unavailable for streaming for the first few hours of the album's release. Both Manson and rapper DaBaby, who also appeared at the party and whose real name is Jonathan Kirk, are credited as co-writers of the track. DaBaby recently stirred controversy with homophobic remarks, for which he has apologized.

Kanye West
Brad Barket/Getty Images for Fast Company

Hours before the album was released, Kanye posted on Instagram screenshots of a text exchange with his manager, Bu Thiam, that suggested DaBaby's manager had an issue clearing "Jail." Kanye, who ran for president in 2020, defended his "brother," saying he "was the only person who said he would vote for me in public." DaBaby, who did tweet last August, "You got me f--ked up you think I ain't voting for Ye," has not commented about the alleged dispute.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">DONDA BY <a href="https://twitter.com/kanyewest?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@KANYEWEST</a> FULL CREDITS &amp; FEATURINGS <a href="https://t.co/0B4EweKbSI">pic.twitter.com/0B4EweKbSI</a></p>&mdash; YEEZY MAFIA (@theyeezymafia) <a href="https://twitter.com/theyeezymafia/status/1431976779544211458?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 29, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Check out a track listing for Donda:

1. "Donda Chant"
2. "Jail"
3. "God Breathed"
4. "Off the Grid"
5. "Hurricane"
6. "Praise God"
7. "Jonah"
8. "Ok Ok"
9. "Junya"
10. "Believe What I Say"
11. "24"
12. "Remote Control"
13. "Moon"
14. "Heaven and Hell"
15. "Donda"
16. "Keep My Spirit Alive"
17. "Jesus Lord"
18. "New Again"
19. "Tell the Vision"
20. "Lord I Need You"
21. "Pure Souls"
22. "Come to Life"
23. "No Child Left Behind"
24. "Jail pt 2"
25. "Ok Ok pt 2"
26. "Junya pt 2"
27. "Jesus Lord pt 2."