Girl Ultra Will Explore ‘Sadness, Femininity, and Lust’ on New EP ‘Blush’

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Girl Ultra - Credit: Ellie Rha & Robbie E Newman*
Girl Ultra - Credit: Ellie Rha & Robbie E Newman*

After a successful performance at Coachella last month and on the heels of her opening slot on tour with Chromeo, Girl Ultra is ready for a new era of music. Rolling Stone can exclusively reveal that the Mexican rising star will be releasing her EP Blush on July 12 via Big Dada and Ninja Tune.

With the EP announcement, the singer also drops “Blu,” the second single from the seven-track EP, which she says encapsulates the energy of “today’s youth.” The Ellie Rha-directed video follows the singer on the streets of New York City and captures the energy of the EP as a whole.

More from Rolling Stone

“We carry our sadness everywhere we go but we keep it moving,” she says. “Us girls, we just wipe our tears, put our makeup on and continue. It’s a fast-paced song with dirty textures.”

The new EP includes previously released “Rimel,” or mascara. Among the tracks on the project are “5to elemento,” or fifth element, and a track named after the actor Bruce Willis.

“This EP follows my need for experimentation,” Girl Ultra says of the project, which she says merges garage and club music.

“I wanted short energetic tracks and in lyrical terms, I was trying to find very precise messages about sadness, femininity and lust that inhabit these current times,” she says. “You can feel it all at the same time.”

The EP taps into sounds of the early 2000s and was produced by Girl Ultra alongside her friends Sam Katz and Kiddie. Blush marks GIrl Ultra’s fourth EP after releasing El Sur in 2022. She dropped her full-length album Nuevos Aires, which featured “Morena Mia” and “Fuckhim” with Ximena Sariñana, in 2019.

Blush Track List

  1. “blu”

  2. “blush”

  3. “5to elemento”

  4. “bruce willisss”

  5. “lalala”

  6. “rimel”

  7. “guapa”

Best of Rolling Stone