Emmys ‘In Memoriam’ segment to celebrate lives of Matthew Perry, Angela Lansbury, Norman Lear and more

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Producers for the 75th annual Emmy Awards on Monday have one of the most difficult challenges ever. With the postponement from a typical September slot a few months ago due to WGA and SAG strikes, there are now over 150 people who could be featured for the “In Memoriam” segment. How will they make those final choices and likely select no more than 50 to include? It’s a 17-month group of television veterans who have died rather than 12 months.

We have assembled a lengthy list of people below who might be selected. Members of the academy’s TV Hall of Fame are Bob Barker, Angela Lansbury, Norman Lear, Tom Smothers and Barbara Walters. Some of the previous Emmy winners and nominees include Kirstie Alley, Alan Arkin, Harry Belafonte, Tony Bennett, Andre Braugher, Ron Cephas Jones, Leslie Jordan, Piper Laurie, Stuart Margolin and Matthew Perry.

More from GoldDerby

Sharon Acker (actor)
Kirstie Alley (actor)
Ed Ames (actor/singer)
John Aniston (actor)
Alan Arkin (actor)
Nicki Aycox (actor)
Burt Bacharach (composer)
Angelo Badalamenti (composer)
Bob Barker (host/producer)
Jules Bass (producer/director)
Cari Beauchamp (writer)
Gabrielle Beaumont (director)
Harry Belafonte (actor/singer)
Richard Belzer (actor)
Tony Bennett (singer)
Robert Blake (actor)
Barbara Bosson (actor)
Andre Braugher (actor)
Dick Butkus (actor/host)
Bill Butler (cinematographer)
Robert Butler (director/producer)
Michael Callan (actor)
Tyler Christopher (actor)
Robert Clary (actor)
Phyllis Coates (actor)
Robbie Coltrane (actor)
Kevin Conroy (actor)
Pat Cooper (comedian)
Nicolas Coster (actor)
Manny Coto (producer)
Carl Davis (composer)
David Davis (producer/writer)
Kamar de los Reyes (actor)
Melinda Dillon (actor)
Jonathan Dolgen (executive)
Arthur Duncan (dancer)
Evan Ellingson (actor)
Richard Eustis (producer/writer)
Andrea Evans (actor)
Sharon Farrell (actor)
Ben Feigin (producer)
Peter S. Fischer (producer/writer)
Louise Fletcher (actor)
Nancy Frangione (actor)
Gerald Fried (composer)
William Friedkin (director)
Michael Gambon (actor)
Bill Geddie (producer)
Clarence Gilyard, Jr. (actor)
Mark Goddard (actor)
Bo Goldman (writer)
Len Goodman (judge)
Bruce Gowers (director)
Johnny Hardwick (actor)
Sheldon Harnick (composer)
Stan Harris (producer/director)
Brad William Henke (actor)
Maurice Hines (actor/dancer)
Elizabeth Hubbard (actor)
Barry Humphries (actor)
John Iacovelli (production designer)
Doug Ibold (editor)
David Jacobs (producer/writer)
Glenda Jackson (actor)
Glynis Johns (actor)
Ron Cephas Jones (actor)
Leslie Jordan (actor)
Bernard Kalb (journalist/host)
Victor J. Kemper (cinematographer)
Lance Kerwin (actor)
Charles Kimbrough (actor)
Robert Klane (writer/director)
Marty Krofft (producer)
Angela Lansbury (actor)
Norman Lear (producer/writer)
Piper Laurie (actor)
Eugene Lee (production designer)
Franne Lee (costume designer)
David Leland (director/writer)
Michael Lerner (actor)
Lisa Loring (actor)
George Maharis (actor)
Stuart Margolin (actor/director)
Mark Margolis (actor)
Ron Masak (actor)
David McCallum (actor)
Tim McCarver (sports announcer)
Bob McGrath (actor)
Douglas McGrath (actor/director/writer)
Dale McRaven (producer/writer)
Billy Miller (actor)
Richard Moll (actor)
Cindy Morgan (actor)
Lloyd Morrisett (executive/producer)
Geoffrey Neigher (writer/producer)
Barry Newman (actor)
Mike Nussbaum (actor)
Ryan O’Neal (actor)
Christian Oliver (actor)
Billy Packer (sports announcer)
Chris Parr (producer)
Matthew Perry (actor)
Andrew Prine (actor)
Hector Ramirez (camera operator)
Herman Raucher (writer)
Quinn Redeker (actor)
Lance Reddick (actor)
Julia Reichert (documentarian)
Paul Reubens (actor/writer)
Adam Rich (actor)
Bobby Rivers (host)
Robbie Robertson (composer)
Stan Rogow (producer/writer)
Richard Romanus (actor)
Richard Roundtree (actor)
Mark Russell (host)
Julian Sands (actor)
Thomas W. Sarnoff (executive)
Arthur Schmidt (editor)
Mark Shelmerdine (producer)
Stu Silver (writer)
Tom Sizemore (actor)
Tom Smothers (comedian/writer/producer)
Suzanne Somers (actor)
Arlene Sorkin (actor)
David Soul (actor)
Jerry Springer (host)
John Stacy (sound editor)
Norman Steinberg (writer)
Frances Sternhagen (actor)
George A. Sunga (director/producer)
Inga Swenson (actor)
Topol (actor)
Shawna Trpcic (costume designer)
Kevin Turen (producer)
Lawrence Turman (producer)
Tina Turner (actress/singer)
Barbara Walters (journalist/host)
Peter Werner (director)
Annie Wersching (actor)
Paxton Whitehead (actor)
Tom Wilkinson (actor)
Cindy Williams (actor)
Treat Williams (actor)
Burt Young (actor)
Jacklyn Zemen (actor)

PREDICT the 2023 Emmy Awards through January 15.

Make your predictions at Gold Derby now. Download our free and easy app for Apple/iPhone devices or Android (Google Play) to compete against legions of other fans plus our experts and editors for best prediction accuracy scores. See our latest prediction champs. Can you top our esteemed leaderboards next? Always remember to keep your predictions updated because they impact our latest racetrack odds, which terrify Hollywood chiefs and stars. Don’t miss the fun. Speak up and share your huffy opinions in our famous forums where 5,000 showbiz leaders lurk every day to track latest awards buzz. Everybody wants to know: What do you think? Who do you predict and why?

SIGN UP for Gold Derby newsletters and updates

Best of GoldDerby

Sign up for Gold Derby's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.