Emmys 2016: ‘Adventure Time,’ ‘Robot Chicken’ Among First Winners

(Credit: Cartoon Network)

Let the Emmy celebrations begin! While the Creative Arts Emmy ceremonies will not take place until September 10 and 11, today the Academy announced the the first winners of the season, for Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation.

Related: Yahoo TV’s Complete Emmy Coverage

Cartoon Network scored multiple times, with Adventure Time and Long Live the Royals, while Adult Swim’s long-running favorite Robot Chicken earned its fourth Emmy win for their latest DC Comics Special.

(Credit: Adult Swim)

See the full list of winners below:


(NoHo Arts District, Calif., Aug. 26, 2016) – The Television Academy announced today the juried award winners for the 68th Emmy® Awards in Animation. The juried awards for Animation will be presented on Sunday, September 11 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California. This year’s juried winners include:

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation

Adventure TimeBad Jubies • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios in association with Bix Pix Entertainment

Jason Kolowski, Production Designer

Adventure TimeStakes Pt. 8: The Dark Cloud • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios

Tom Herpich, Storyboard Artist

He Named Me Malala • National Geographic Channel • Fox Searchlight Pictures in association with Image Nation Abu Dhabi and Participant Media

Jason Carpenter, Animation Production Designer

Long Live The RoyalsPunk Show • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios

Chris Tsirgiotis, Background Designer

Robot Chicken DC Comics Special III: Magical Friendship • Adult Swim • Stoopid Buddy Stoodios

Scott DaRos, Character Animator

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees, but a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant’s work, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. At the conclusion of each deliberation, the jury considers the question, “Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award – yea or nay?” Only those with unanimous approval win.

The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will air Sunday, Sept. 17 at 8 p.m. on FXX. The 68th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will air Sunday, Sept. 18, on ABC.