The Doors, Radiohead, Steve Martin Among National Recording Registry Selections

Audio recordings running the gamut of the first album by the Doors to musical highlights from “Sesame Street” have been selected for inclusion in the Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry.

The registry is an archive of recordings with cultural, artists and historical significance. The library’s National Recording Preservation Board selects 25 works each year to be added to the list. The 2014 selections bring the number of works in the registry to 425.

The typically eclectic group includes selections from blues pioneer Blind Lemon Jefferson to the indelible “My Funny Valentine” from the Gerry Mulligan Quartet to the 1978 Steve Martin comedy album “A Wild and Crazy Guy.”

“Congress understood the importance of protecting America’s aural patrimony when it passed the National Recording Preservation Act 15 years ago,” said Librarian of Congress James Billington. “By preserving these recordings, we safeguard the words, sounds and music that embody who we are as a people and a nation.”

Here is a complete list of the 2014 selections:

  • Vernacular Wax Cylinder Recordings at University of California, Santa Barbara Library (c.1890-1910)

  • The Benjamin Ives Gilman Collection, recorded at the 1893 World’s Columbian Exposition at Chicago (1893)

  • “The Boys of the Lough”/“The Humours of Ennistymon” (single)—Michael Coleman (1922)

  • “Black Snake Moan”/ “Match Box Blues”(single)—Blind Lemon Jefferson (1928)

  • “Sorry, Wrong Number” (episode of “Suspense” radio series, May 25, 1943)

  • “Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive” (single)—Johnny Mercer (1944)

  • Radio Coverage of President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Funeral—Arthur Godfrey, et al. (April 14, 1945)

  • “Kiss Me, Kate” (original cast album) (1949)

  • “John Brown’s Body” (album)—Tyrone Power, Judith Anderson, and Raymond Massey; directed by Charles Laughton (1953)

  • “My Funny Valentine” (single)—The Gerry Mulligan Quartet featuring Chet Baker (1953)

  • “Sixteen Tons” (single)—Tennessee Ernie Ford (1955)

  • “Mary Don’t You Weep” (single)—The Swan Silvertones (1959)

  • “Joan Baez” (album)—Joan Baez (1960)

  • “Stand by Me” (single)—Ben E. King (1961)

  • “New Orleans’ Sweet Emma Barrett and her Preservation Hall Jazz Band” (album)— Sweet Emma and her Preservation Hall Jazz Band (1964)

  • “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’” (single)—The Righteous Brothers (1964)

  • “The Doors” (album)—The Doors (1967)

  • “Stand!” (album)—Sly and the Family Stone (1969)

  • “Lincoln Mayorga and Distinguished Colleagues” (album)—Lincoln Mayorga (1968)

  • “A Wild and Crazy Guy” (album)—Steve Martin (1978)

  • “Sesame Street: All-Time Platinum Favorites” (album)—Various (1995)

  • “OK Computer” (album)—Radiohead (1997)

  • “Songs of the Old Regular Baptists”—Various (1997)

  • “The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill” (album)—Lauryn Hill (1998)

  • “Fanfares for the Uncommon Woman” (album)—Colorado Symphony Orchestra, Marin Alsop, conductor; Joan Tower, composer (1999)

Related stories

National Recording Registry Adds Tunes By Isaac Hayes, Everly Brothers, U2

Pink Floyd, Van Cliburn, the Ramones Added to Nat'l Recording Registry

One sexy prexy

Get more from Variety and Variety411: Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Newsletter