Comic-Con: Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards Winners Revealed

In a three-hour ceremony hosted by John Barrowman - in a succession of impressive cosplay outfits, including Marvel Entertainment's Squirrel Girl - the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, recognizing the best comic material published over the last year, were presented Friday night at San Diego Comic-Con.

This year saw a strong showing for Image Comics, with titles from the publisher including Paper Girls, Southern Bastards and The Fade Out responsible for awards including best new series, best continuing series, best writer and best penciller/inker.

Indie publishers Fantagraphics and Drawn & Quarterly also produced multiple titles that picked up awards, including Kate Beaton's Step Aside Pops: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection, which won best humor publication - the first time in the Eisners' long history that a woman has ever won that category solo - and the English language edition of The Eternaut.

In addition to the regular categories, longtime DC Entertainment writer Elliot S. Maggin was awarded the prestigious Bill Finger Award for comic book writing - named for the co-creator of Batman and many of that franchise's defining elements - while Moomins creator Tove Jansson, Human Torch creator Carl Burgos and The Simpsons' Matt Groening were inducted into the Eisner Hall of Fame. Matthew Inman, cartoonist and creator of the webcomic The Oatmeal was awarded the Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award, while British comic book store Orbital Comics & Gallery won the Will Eisner Spirit of Retailing title, recognizing the store's contribution to the industry.

The full list of the winners is below:

Best Lettering: Derf Backderf

Best Colorist: Jordie Bellaire

Best Digital comic: Bandette by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover

Best Penciller/Inker: Cliff Chiang

Best Painter/Multimedia: Dustin Nguyen

Best Publication Design: Sandman Gallery Edition, designed by Josh Beatman/Brainchild Studios

Best Journalism: Hogan's Alley, edited by Tom Heintjes

Best Comics-Related Book: Harvey Kurtzman: The Man Who Created MAD and Revolutionized Humor in America by Bill Schelly

Best Academic/Scholarly Work: The Blacker the Ink Constructions of Black Identity in Comics and Sequential Art, edited by Frances Gateward and John Jennings

Best US Edition of Int'l. Material: The Realist by Asaf Hanuka

Best US Edition of Int'l Material Asia: Showa (1953-1989) by Shigeru Mizuki

Best Adaptation from Another Medium: Two Brothers by Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba

Best Publication for Early Readers: Little Robot by Ben Hatke

Best Publication for Kids: Over the Garden Wall by Pat McHale, Amalia Levari and Jim Campbell

Best Publication for Teens: Super Mutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki

Best Archival Collection/Project Strips: The Eternaut by Hector German Oesterheld and Francisco Solano Lopez

Best Archival Collection/Project - Comic Books: Walt Kelly's Fairy Tales edited by Craig Yoe

Best Humor Publication: Step Aside Pops: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection by Kate Beaton

Best Writer: Jason Aaron

Best Writer/Artist: Bill Griffith

Best Cover Artist: David Aja

Best Short Story: Killing and Dying by Adrian Tomine

Best Single Issue/One Shot: Silver Surfer No. 11 by Dan Slott, Michael and Laura Allred

Best Anthology: Drawn & Quarterly: Twenty-Five Years of Contemporary Cartooning, Comics and Graphic Novels, edited to Tom Devlin

Russ Manning Award for Best Newcomer: Dan Mora

Best Reality Based Work: March Book 2 by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin and Nate Powell

Best Graphic Album (Reprint): Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Best Graphic Album (New): Ruins by Peter Kuper

Best New Series: Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang

Best Limited Series: The Fade Out by Ed Brubaker and Sean Philips

Best Continues Series: Southern Bastards by Jason Aaron and Jason LaTour

Bill Finger Award for Comic Book Writing: Elliot S! Maggin

Hall of Fame: Tove Jansson, Carl Burgos, Matt Groening, Rube Goldberg, Jacques Tardi, Lynda Barry

Will Eisner Spirit of Retailing: Orbital Comics and Gallery, London, UK

Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Matthew Inman, The Oatmeal

Read More: Fantagraphics, Image Comics Lead Eisner Award Nominations