CMA Awards 2023: The Complete List of Winners, Including Lainey Wilson, Newly Crowned Entertainer of the Year

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Lainey Wilson didn’t have to wait long to win entertainer of the year, the top prize given out by the CMA Awards. In only her second year of being nominated at all, and her first year getting a nod for the biggest trophy, the rising star claimed the big kahuna. She also prevailed for album of the year, female vocalist of the year, music video of the year and music event of the year (the last two in collaboration with Hardy).

Early on, the major action from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena was around Luke Combs’ cover of Tracy Chapman’s “Fast Car,” which won the first two on-air awards, for single of the year and song of the year.

More from Variety

Chapman did not attend, but presenter Sara Evans read a statement from the singer-songwriter, who said “I’m sorry I couldn’t join you all” but that it was “truly an honor for my song to be recognized 35 years after its debut.” Said Combs, as he picked up the single of the year honor: “I want to thank Tracy Chapman for writing one of the greatest songs of all time. It’s the first favorite song I ever had.”

In a very competitive field for fresh faces, Jelly Roll won new artist of the year. In his acceptance speech, he singled out the competitor who has been the commercially successful in the category, saying, “Zach Bryan, I think you are one of the hottest things on earth, not just country music.” Continuing on in a nearly preacher-like, inspirational tone, Jelly Roll added: “There is something poetic about a 39-year-old man winning new artist of the year… What’s in front of you is so much more important than what’s behind you. Let’s party, Nashville!”

Chris Stapleton won male vocalist for the seventh time — or, as he put it, “I’ve won a couple of these,” before noting that he is “always humbled” to prevail. He thanked his wife, Morgane Stapleton, saying, “I don’t do any of this without her. Certainly don’t get any of these without her.” Stapleton mentioned two friends who died this year, including his former partner in the Steel Drivers, Mike Henderson, whom he said schooled him in the ways of songwriting.

Brothers Osborne won vocal duo of the year for a sixth time — with singer T.J. Osborne joking: “We’re shocked, honestly, every year this happens. I thought the way this was going that Lainey Wilson and Hardy were gonna win this award.” Old Dominion similarly continued to have a lock on the group of the year award, picking it up for the sixth consecutive year.

Jelly Roll opened the show with a previously unannounced guest, Wynonna Judd, joining him for a gospel choir-fueled “Need a Favor.” Another performance that hadn’t been revealed prior to the show had Wallen bringing Eric Church out to recreate their recorded duet of “Man Made a Bar,” from Wallen’s smash album “One Thing at a Time.” Both Wallen and Jelly Roll are slated for further performance slots during the three-hour telecast; Wallen will be saluting Wynonna, singing a duet of the Judds’ “Love Can Build a Bridge” with K. Michelle.

Wilson came into the awards leading all nominees, with nine. Jelly Roll has the second highest number of nominations, having picked up five. Combs and Hardy each have four nominations.

Performances for the night include Post Malone and Morgan Wallen participating in a medley of country classics and an all-star salute to the late Jimmy Buffett with Kenny Chesney, Alan Jackson, Zac Brown and longtime Buffett band member Mac McAnally.

Performances from the CMAs can be viewed individually here on YouTube, prior to the entire show becoming available on Hulu Thursday.

The complete list of winners, in bold in their respective categories:


  • Luke Combs

  • Chris Stapleton

  • Carrie Underwood

  • Morgan Wallen

  • Lainey Wilson

Award goes to Artist(s), Producer(s) and Mix Engineer(s)

  • “Fast Car” – Luke Combs
    Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton
    Mix Engineer: Chip Matthews

  • “Heart Like a Truck” – Lainey Wilson
    Producer: Jay Joyce
    Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce

  • “Need A Favor” – Jelly Roll
    Producer: Austin Nivarel
    Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun

  • “Next Thing You Know” – Jordan Davis
    Producer: Paul DiGiovanni
    Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley

  • “Wait in the Truck” – Hardy (feat. Lainey Wilson)
    Producers: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells
    Mix Engineer: Joey Moi

Award goes to Artist, Producer(s) and Mix Engineer(s)

  • Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville – Ashley McBryde
    Producers: John Osborne, John Peets
    Mix Engineers: Gena Johnson, John Osborne

  • Bell Bottom Country – Lainey Wilson
    Producer: Jay Joyce
    Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce

  • Gettin’ Old – Luke Combs
    Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton
    Mix Engineers: Michael H. Brauer, Jim Cooley, Chip Matthews

  • One Thing At A Time – Morgan Wallen
    Producers: Jacob Durrett, Charlie Handsome, Joey Moi, Cameron Montgomery
    Mix Engineers: Josh Ditty, Joey Moi, Eivind Nordland

  • Rolling Up the Welcome Mat – Kelsea Ballerini
    Producers: Kelsea Ballerini, Alysa Vanderheym
    Mix Engineers: Dan Grech-Marguerat, Alysa Vanderheym

Award goes to Songwriter(s)

  • “Fast Car”
    Songwriter: Tracy Chapman

  • “Heart Like A Truck”
    Songwriters: Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Lainey Wilson

  • “Next Thing You Know”
    Songwriters: Jordan Davis, Greylan James, Chase McGill, Josh Osborne

  • “Tennessee Orange”
    Songwriters: David Fanning, Paul Jenkins, Megan Moroney, Ben Williams

  • “Wait in the Truck”
    Songwriters: Renee Blair, Michael Hardy, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt


  • Kelsea Ballerini

  • Miranda Lambert

  • Ashley McBryde

  • Carly Pearce

  • Lainey Wilson


  • Luke Combs

  • Jelly Roll

  • Cody Johnson

  • Chris Stapleton

  • Morgan Wallen


  • Lady A

  • Little Big Town

  • Midland

  • Old Dominion

  • Zac Brown Band


  • Brooks & Dunn

  • Brothers Osborne

  • Dan + Shay

  • Maddie & Tae

  • The War And Treaty

Award goes to Artists and Producer(s)

  • “Save Me” Jelly Roll (with Lainey Wilson)

Producers: Zach Crowell, David Ray Stevens

  • “She Had Me At Heads Carolina (Remix)” Cole Swindell & Jo Dee Messina

Producer: Zach Crowell

  • “Thank God” Kane Brown (with Katelyn Brown)

Producer: Dann Huff

  • “Wait in the Truck” Hardy (feat. Lainey Wilson)

Producers: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells

  • “We Don’t Fight Anymore” Carly Pearce (featuring Chris Stapleton)

Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Carly Pearce


  • Jenee Fleenor

  • Paul Franklin

  • Rob McNelley

  • Derek Wells

  • Charlie Worsham

Award goes to Artist(s) and Director(s)

  • “Light On In The Kitchen” Ashley McBryde

Director: Reid Long

  • “Memory Lane” Old Dominion

Directors: Mason Allen, Nicki Fletcher

  • “Need A Favor” Jelly Roll

Director: Patrick Tohill

  • “Next Thing You Know” Jordan Davis

Director: Running Bear

  • “Wait in the Truck” Hardy (feat. Lainey Wilson)

Director: Justin Clough


  • Zach Bryan

  • Jelly Roll

  • Parker McCollum

  • Megan Moroney

  • Hailey Whitters

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.