Chart Watch: The Return Of Chris Brown


Chris Brown's sixth studio album, X, is still nearly a month away, but I’ve got a feeling it’s going to be big. “New Flame” (featuring Usher & Rick Ross) leaps from #73 to #38 in its fifth week on the Hot 100. It’s the fourth song from X to make the top 40, following “Fine China” (#31), “Love More” (featuring Nicki Minaj) (#23) and “Loyal” (featuring Lil Wayne & French Montana Or Too Short Or Tyga) (#9).

Brown’s previous album, Fortune, spawned two top 40 hits over the life of the album. His album before that, the comeback album F.A.M.E., spawned four. His 2009 album Graffiti yielded just one. That album was hurt by the fallout to Brown’s much-publicized assault on Rihanna.

His first two studio albums, Chris Brown and Exclusive, spawned four and three top 40 hits, respectively.

This week’s big news is Meghan Trainor's “All About That Bass” jumping from #4 to #2. It was kept out of the top spot by MAGIC!'s “Rude,” which holds at #1 for the sixth straight week. I covered that, and the rest of the top 10 action, in a Chart Watch blog we posted earlier today. If you missed it, here's a link.

"Don’t Tell ‘Em" by Jeremih featuring YG jumps from #26 to #18 in its eighth week. It’s vying to become his third top 10 hit, following “Birthday Sex” and “Down On Me” (featuring 50 Cent).

Jason Aldean's “Burnin' It Down” rebounds from #22 to #20 in its fourth week. It debuted and peaked three weeks ago at #12. It's #1 on Hot Country Songs for the fourth week … “Really Don't Care” by Demi Lovato featuring Cher Lloyd jumps from #32 to #26 in its 11th week.

Tove Lo's “Habits (Stay High)” jumps from #38 to #30 in its 12th week … Echosmith's “Cool Kids” jumps from #43 to #31 in its sixth week.

Two long-running hits get a second-wind this week. Both are in their 20th week on the chart. KONGOS's “Come With Me Now” (which tops the 1 million mark in digital sales this week) rebounds from #46 to #36. (It has climbed as high at #31.) 5 Seconds Of Summer's “She Looks So Perfect” rebounds from #86 to #74. (It peaked at #24.)

"Best Mistake" by Ariana Grande featuring Big Sean is the week’s top new entry at #49. It’s vying to become her fifth top 10 hit; his third. It’s the fourth single from her sophomore album, My Everything, which is due Aug. 25. (The collabo “Bang Bang” appears only on deluxe editions.)

Bobby Shmurda's “Hot Boy” leaps from #72 to #52 in its third week … Rae Sremmurd's “No Flex Zone” vaults from #94 to #68 in its third week … Milky Chance's “Stolen Dance” jumps from #84 to #71 in its fourth week … Migos's “Fight Night” jumps from #88 to #76 in its sixth week.

Maddie & Tae's “Girl In A Country Song” re-enters the chart at #78. The video is terrific, if you haven't seen it.

"Shell Shocked" by Juicy J with Wiz Khalifa & Ty Dolla Sign featuring Kill The Noise and Madsonik is the week’s second highest new entry at #84. It’s from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles soundtrack. The movie was #1 at the box-office for the second straight weekend. Partners In Kryme's “Turtle Power!” was the biggest hit from the 1990 Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles soundtrack. It reached #13 on the Hot 100.

"Hookah" by Tyga featuring Young Thug is the third highest new entry at #94. It’s from Tyga’s fourth studio album, The Gold Album: 18th Dynasty, which is due Nov. 18.

Hozier's “Take Me To Church” is the fourth highest new entry at #96. It's from the Irish singer/songwriter's first studio album, which is due Sept. 19.

The Swon Brothers's “Later On” is the fifth highest new entry at #100. The country duo finished third on Season 4 of The Voice. They charted with a few songs from the show: Kenny Loggins’s “Danny’s Song,” Bob Seger's “Turn The Page” and Eagles's “I Can't Tell You Why.”

Follow Paul on Google+