ASC Awards Nominations: ‘Roma’, ‘A Star Is Born’ & Others Make Cinematographers’ Cut

Erik Pedersen

The American Society of Cinematographers has revealed the film and TV nominees for its 33rd annual ASC Awards, set for February 9 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

The marquee Theatrical Release prize certainly is an international contest, with the five nominees all hailing from different countries: Mexico’s Alfonso Cuarón for Roma, American Matthew Libatique for A Star is Born, Irishman Robbie Ryan for The Favourite, Linus Sandgren of Sweden for First Man and Poland’s Łukasz Żal for Cold War.

It’s the same story for the Spotlight Award, which recognizes cinematography in smaller features that might not receive wider theatrical release or awareness. Vying for that prize are Briton Joshua James Richards (The Rider), Georgian Giorgi Shvelidze (Namme) and Frank van den Eeden of the Netherlands (Girl).

Check out the TV nominees below.

The ASC said last month that Robert Richardson will receive its ASC Lifetime Achievement Award and Jeff Jur is set for the Career Achievement in Television Award. The 2019 trophy also will celebrate the group’s 100th anniversary.

Here are the film and TV nominees for the 33rd annual ASC Awards:

Theatrical Release
Alfonso Cuarón for Roma
Matthew Libatique, ASC for A Star is Born
Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC for The Favourite
Linus Sandgren, ASC, FSF for First Man
Łukasz Żal, PSC for Cold War

Spotlight Award
Joshua James Richards for The Rider
Giorgi Shvelidze for Namme
Frank van den Eeden, NSC, SBC for Girl

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television
Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle, “Jahr Null”
Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for The Crown, “Beryl”
David Klein, ASC for Homeland, “Paean to the People”
Colin Watkinson, ASC for The Handmaid’s Tale, “The Word”
Cathal Watters, ISC for Peaky Blinders, “The Company”
Zoë White, ACS for The Handmaid’s Tale, “Holly”

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television
Nathaniel Goodman, ASC for Timeless, “The King of the Delta Blues”
Jon Joffin, ASC for Beyond, “Two Zero One”
Ben Richardson for Yellowstone, “Daybreak”
David Stockton, ASC for Gotham, “A Dark Knight: Queen Takes Knight”
Thomas Yatsko, ASC for Damnation, “A Different Species”

Motion Picture, Miniseries or Pilot Made for Television
James Friend, BSC for Patrick Melrose, “Bad News”
Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius: Picasso, “Chapter 1”
Florian Hoffmeister, BSC for The Terror, “Go for Broke”
M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (pilot)
Brendan Steacy, CSC for Alias Grace, “Part 1”

Related stories

CAS Awards: 'Black Panther', 'A Star Is Born' & 'Mrs. Maisel' Among Cinema Audio Society Nominees

Chris Rock, Steve Martin, Martin Scorsese And Other A-List Presenters Spike New York Film Critics Circle's Cinephile Punch

Writers Guild Film Nominations: 'Roma', 'Black Panther', 'Eighth Grade' & More

Get more from Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Newsletter