Producers Guild Unveils 2024 Innovation, Sports, Children’s and Shortform Winners

The Producers Guild of America has announced the winners in a handful of categories ahead of the 2024 PGA Awards.

The team for Body of Mine won the PGA Innovation Award, and the team for Succession: Controlling the Narrative won for outstanding shortform program.

More from The Hollywood Reporter

The winners were announced during the PGA’s annual West Coast Celebration, at Members restaurant in West Hollywood. The celebration is the second in a week’s worth of bi-coastal events which will culminate with the PGA Awards on Sunday.

Earlier this week, the guild awarded the team behind Beckham (season one) with the outstanding sports program award and the Sesame Street (season five, episode three) team with outstanding children’s program.

The PGA Innovation Award recognizes the production of a noteworthy, impactful new media program that significantly elevates the audience’s viewing experience. In alphabetical order, the nominees for this year were: The EYE AND I (EDDA), JFK Memento (TARGO), Letters From Drancy (East City Films), MLK: Now Is the Time (TIME Studios), Ocean of Light: Dolphins VR (Meta Quest), Our Ocean Our Future (Hidden Worlds Entertainment), Out of ScaleA Kurzgesagt Adventure (Meta), Reimagined (Very Cavaliere Productions), Space Explorers: Blue Marble Trilogy (Felix & Paul Studios), Wallace & Gromit in The Grand Getaway (Aardman) and The World’s Largest Tailgate (Kansas City Chiefs).

Programs released during the 2023 calendar year were eligible for consideration. The PGA Innovation Award is presented to the production as a whole, not to individual producers. As such, the producers are not required to go through the PGA Awards eligibility determination process. There have been three productions awarded since the award’s inception: Vader Immortal: A Star Wars VR Series – Episode 1 (2019), For All Mankind: Time Capsule (2022) and Stay Alive, My Son (2023).

The PGA will reveal winners in its film, TV and documentary categories at an awards ceremony on Sunday. Also during the ceremony, Martin Scorsese will receive the David O. Selznick Achievement Award. Charles D. King is set to receive the Milestone Award. And Gail Berman will receive the Norman Lear Achievement Award.

The 2024 PGA film, TV and documentary nominees follow.

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures
American Fiction
Anatomy of a Fall
The Holdovers
Killers of the Flower Moon
Past Lives
Poor Things
The Zone of Interest

Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

The Boy and the Heron
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
The Super Mario Bros. Movie
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Drama
The Crown 
The Diplomat 
The Last of Us 
The Morning Show

Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy
The Bear 
Jury Duty 
Only Murders in the Building 
Ted Lasso 

David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited or Anthology Series Television
All the Light We Cannot See 
Daisy Jones and the Six 
Lessons in Chemistry 

Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures
Black Mirror: Beyond the Sea
Mr. Monk’s Last Case: A Monk Movie
Quiz Lady
Red, White & Royal Blue

Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television
60 Minutes 
The 1619 Project 
Albert Brooks: Defending My Life
Being Mary Tyler Moore
Welcome to Wrexham 

Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment, Variety, Sketch, Standup & Talk Television
Carol Burnett: 90 Years Of Laughter + Love 
Chris Rock: Selective Outrage 
Dave Chappelle: The Dreamer 
Last Week Tonight With John Oliver 
Saturday Night Live 

Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television
The Amazing Race 
RuPaul’s Drag Race 
Squid Game: The Challenge 
Top Chef 
The Voice

Best of The Hollywood Reporter