2024 Emmys Supporting Actor Comedy Predictions

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Emmy Predictions: Supporting Actor (Comedy) — How Many Actors From ‘The Bear’ Will be Nominated?
Emmy Predictions: Supporting Actor (Comedy) — How Many Actors From ‘The Bear’ Will be Nominated?

Variety Awards Circuit section is the home for all awards news and related content throughout the year, featuring the following: the official predictions for the upcoming Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and Tony Awards ceremonies, curated by Variety senior awards editor Clayton Davis. The prediction pages reflect the current standings in the race and do not reflect personal preferences for any individual contender. As other formal (and informal) polls suggest, competitions are fluid and subject to change based on buzz and events. Predictions are updated every Thursday.

More from Variety

Visit the prediction pages for the respective ceremonies via the links below:


2024 Emmy Predictions:
Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

The Bear Lionel Boyce Ramy Youssef
The Bear — Pictured: BTS (Lionel Boyce, Ramy Youssef). CR: Chuck Hodes/FX

Weekly Commentary (Updated: May 24, 2024): More to come.

The eligibility deadline for all series concluding their runs is May 31. The nominations voting round is open from June 13 to 24.

Read: Variety’s Awards Circuit for the latest Primetime Emmy predictions in the major categories.

And the Predicted Nominees Are


Performer and Series


Ebon Moss-Bachrach — “The Bear” (FX)


Oliver Platt — “The Bear” (FX)


Paul W. Downs — “Hacks” (Max)


Matty Matheson — “The Bear” (FX)


Lionel Boyce — “The Bear” (FX)


Tyler James Williams — “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)


Richard Lewis — “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (Max)


Chris Perfetti — “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)

Next in Line


Performer and Series


Paul Rudd — “Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)


Carl Clemons-Hopkins — “Hacks” (Max)


Bowen Yang — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)


Chance Perdomo — “Gen V” (Prime Video)


Kenan Thompson — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)


J.B. Smoove — “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (Max)


Ricky Martin — “Palm Royale” (Apple TV+)

Also in Contention


Performer and Series


Daniel Ings — “The Gentlemen” (Netflix)


David Hyde Pierce — “Julia” (Max)


Marcello Hernandez — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)


William Stanford Davis — “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)


Harvey Guillén — “What We Do in the Shadows” (FX)


Walton Goggins — “I’m a Virgo” (Prime Video)


Mark Proksch — “What We Do in the Shadows” (FX)


Mikey Day — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)


Vinnie Jones — “The Gentlemen” (Netflix)


Joel Kim Booster — “Loot” (Apple TV+)

Eligible Performances (Supporting Comedy Actor)

Eligible Performances (Supporting Comedy Actor)
Eligible Performances (Supporting Comedy Actor)

**The list below is not complete and have been confirmed as officially submitted. All information is subject to change. Grouped by network that airs each series.

  • William Stanford Davis — “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)

  • Chris Perfetti — “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)

  • Josh Segarra — “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)

  • Tyler James Williams — “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)

  • John Cho — “The Afterparty” (Apple TV+)

  • Paul Walter Hauser — “The Afterparty” (Apple TV+)

  • Jack Whitehall — “The Afterparty” (Apple TV+)

  • Zach Woods — “The Afterparty” (Apple TV+)

  • Josh Segarra — “The Big Door Prize” (Apple TV+)

  • Joel Kim Booster — “Loot” (Apple TV+)

  • Josh Lucas — “Palm Royale” (Apple TV+)

  • Ricky Martin — “Palm Royale” (Apple TV+)

  • Morris Chestnut — “Diarra from Detroit” (BET+)

  • Brandon Scott Jones — “Ghosts” (CBS)

  • Lionel Boyce — “The Bear” (FX)

  • Ebon Moss-Bachrach — “The Bear” (FX)

  • Matty Matheson — “The Bear” (FX)

  • Oliver Platt — “The Bear” (FX)

  • Lane Factor — “Reservation Dogs” (FX)

  • Zahn McClarnon — “Reservation Dogs” (FX)

  • Harvey Guillén — “What We Do in the Shadows” (FX)

  • Mark Proksch — “What We Do in the Shadows” (FX)

  • Michael Cera — “Life and Beth” (Hulu)

  • Michael Cyril Creighton — “Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)

  • Paul Rudd — “Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)

  • Jeremy Shamos — “Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)

  • Wesley Taylor — “Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)

  • Michael Imperioli — “This Fool” (Hulu)

  • Frankie Quiñones — “This Fool” (Hulu)

  • Jeff Garlin — “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (Max)

  • Richard Lewis — “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (Max)

  • J.B. Smoove — “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (Max)

  • Carl Clemons-Hopkins — “Hacks” (Max)

  • Paul W. Downs — “Hacks” (Max)

  • Fran Kranz — “Julia” (Max)

  • David Hyde Pierce — “Julia” (Max)

  • Case Walker — “The Other Two” (Max)

  • Vico Ortiz — “Our Flag Means Death” (Max)

  • Taika Waititi — “Our Flag Means Death” (Max)

  • Donald Faison — “Extended Family” (NBC)

  • Michael Che — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • Mikey Day — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • Andrew Dismukes — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • Marcello Hernandez — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • James Austin Johnson — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • Colin Jost — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • Michael Longfellow — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • Kenan Thompson — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • Devon Walker — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • Bowen Yang — “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

  • Giancarlo Esposito — “The Gentlemen” (Netflix)

  • Daniel Ings — “The Gentlemen” (Netflix)

  • Jack Cutmore-Scott — “Frasier” (Paramount+)

  • Anders Keith — “Frasier” (Paramount+)

  • Nicholas Lyndhurst — “Frasier” (Paramount+)

  • Tom Bateman — “Based on a True Story” (Peacock)

  • Asa Germann — “Gen V” (Prime Video)

  • Derek Luh — “Gen V” (Prime Video)

  • Chance Perdomo — “Gen V” (Prime Video)

  • Jon Hamm — “Good Omens” (Prime Video)

  • Mike Epps — “I’m a Virgo” (Prime Video)

  • Walton Goggins — “I’m a Virgo” (Prime Video)

More Information (Supporting Comedy Actor)

More Information (Supporting Comedy Actor)
More Information (Supporting Comedy Actor)

2023 category winner: Ebon Moss Bachrach — “The Bear” (FX) — Season 1

2024 Emmy Awards Calendar and Timeline (all dates are subject to change)

  • Eligibility period: June 1, 2023 – May 31, 2024

  • Feb. 29: Submissions open

  • May 9: Deadline for programs identifying as Primetime programming to upload all entry materials.

  • June 13: Nominations-round voting begins

  • June 24: Nominations-round voting ends at 10:00 p.m. PT

  • June 28 – July 8: Voting for peer group-specific top ten rounds panels (if applicable)

  • July 17: Primetime Emmy nominations are announced.

  • July 24: Deadline for errors and omissions to the nominations.

  • August 5: Find-round videos available for viewing.

  • August 15: Final-round voting begins.

  • August 26: Final-round voting ends at 10:00 p.m. PST.

  • Sept. 7-8: Creative Arts Emmy Awards and Governors Gala

  • Sunday, Sept. 15: 76th Primetime Emmy Awards to air on ABC.

Emmy Prediction Categories

About the Primetime Emmy Awards

The Primetime Emmy Awards, commonly known as the Emmys, are awarded by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS). Established in 1949, these celebrate outstanding achievements in American primetime television. The Emmys are categorized into three divisions: the Primetime Emmy Awards for performance and production excellence; the Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, recognizing achievements in artistry and craftsmanship; and the Primetime Engineering Emmy Awards, which honor significant engineering and technological advancements. The eligibility period typically extends from June 1 to May 31 each year. The Television Academy hosts the Emmys and has over 20,000 members across 30 professional peer groups, including performers, directors, producers, art directors, artisans and executives.

Best of Variety