10 / 35
Franklin D. Roosevelt, Charles E. Hughes, Herbert Hoover, James Roosevelt
President Franklin D. Roosevelt takes the oath of office from Chief Justice Charles E. Hughes at the inauguration, March 4, 1933. At right is Herbert Hoover and behind the president is his eldest son James Roosevelt. (AP Photo)

What to Read Next

Historic inaugurations

January 16, 2013

Iconic scenes from presidential inaugurations past.