What to Read Next

Karnataka Election 2013 results: Ruling BJP trailing, Congress making headway

May 8, 2013

The counting of ballots for the assembly polls in Karnataka began under tight security on Wednesday with the state opposition Congress confident of forming a government with a clear majority. As per the latest trends the Congress is leading in 63 seats, while the incumbent BJP is leading in 36 seats. Yeddyurappa's KJP is leading in 5 seats and JD(S) in 28. The majority mark in the 224 member assembly is 113. Senior Congress leader, Siddaramaiah, who is one of the contenders for the post of chief minister, exuded confidence and predicted that the Congress party would garner over 120 seats.